STATE OF ILLINOIS

Action Plan Amendment No. 16

July 15, 2014 Supplemental CDBG Disaster Recovery 1800 ("Ike") Funding From the Supplemental Appropriations Act

> Public Law 110-329, 2008 Federal Register FR-5337-N-01

GOVERNOR PAT QUINN STATE OF ILLINOIS



ILLINOIS CDBG "IKE" ACTION PLAN AMENDMENT (NO. 16)

Through this Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) Disaster Recovery (DR) 1800 ("Ike") proposed plan amendment, Illinois is providing for greater flexibility in awarding "Ike" funds through the methods outlined below. This request reflects Illinois' commitment to utilize and award "Ike" funding in a manner that best supports the needs of Illinois residents and communities, and that can be assisted with CDBG Disaster "Ike" program funding.

To further support the needs of Illinois communities within the Federally-Designated Areas Eligible for CDBG "Ike" Assistance (Exhibit A) the State of Illinois is proposing to make revisions described below to Illinois' CDBG "Ike" Disaster Recovery Action Plan.

Public Comment Period

In accordance with CDBG requirements, DCEO has posted draft changes to the Illinois CDBG Disaster Recovery Action Plan in order to provide opportunity for public comment. The proposed Amended Plan for the Property Buyout Program is available on DCEO's website, at http://www.illinoisbiz.biz/dceo/Bureaus/Community Development/CDBG+Disaster+Recovery+Programs/.

Interested parties should feel free to submit comments in writing or via email to DCEO. Comments may be directed to: Frankie Atwater, Assistant Deputy Director, Office of Community Development, DCEO, 500 E. Monroe St, Springfield, IL 62701, or emailed to frankie.atwater@illinois.gov, with "Public Comment to Ike Plan Amendment No.16" in the email subject line.

Preface to the Proposed "Ike" Action Plan Revisions

Illinois continues to make program adjustments as greater understanding of the specific needs of disaster impacted communities develops. The Ike-Program Amendment (No.16) proposes the following changes to the previously-approved "Ike" Action Plan, as amended:

ACTION PLAN AMENDMENT 16

Amendment 16 is to allow the Village of Gulfport and Henderson County to use the remaining funds awarded in Amendment 6 for IKE-Property Buyout program. In Amendment 6 the Village of Gulfport was using a holistic approach to buyouts which allow Gulfport to use funding to address not only the community needs for voluntary buyout assistance, but would also allow funds to determine the feasibility of constructing a newly situated Gulfport and if determined feasible, allow funds to be used for the redevelopment of a "new" Gulfport positioned outside the 100 year flood where Gulfport currently resides. The amendment also noted that other eligible costs for the Gulfport include other eligible CDBG activities associated with relocating a community (e.g., planning, acquisition, infrastructure and eligible redevelopment costs.

Amendment 6 also included Henderson County where the Village of Gulfport is located. Henderson County was prioritized by the state due to the substantial flood damage the county received in 2008. The Village of Gulfport and the Henderson County projects were coordinated and managed by the same local team, including county and local officials. In coordination with the Gulfport project, Henderson County may also qualify for assistance in addition to a pure buyout project.

On May 23, 2012, the State of Illinois published Action Plan Amendment 14. After many discussions with both the Village of Gulfport and Henderson County, the Village determined that citizens of the Village were not willing to move outside of the Village and voluntary participation was much less than originally anticipated. Therefore, amendment 14 deleted the moving of the Village outside of the 100 year flood plain.

As of May 1, 2014, both the Village of Gulfport and Henderson County have completed the buyout/acquisition program which also included relocation payments and demolition. Of the \$7,538,564 initially awarded, \$2,664,359 was disbursed leaving \$4,874,205. The Village of Gulfport in concert with Henderson has requested to use the remaining funds for infrastructure projects that will assist them with flood mitigation projects to alleviate future flood damage as follows:

CSP (Community Stabilization Program)

The CDBG–DR (IKE) program will assist and support projects that are directly or indirectly related to the flood of 2008 in Illinois and are critical to recovery.

- 1. Allocation for activity: \$4,874,205.55 remaining funds from buyout.
- 2. Eligible Applicant: City of Gulfport
- 3. Threshold Criteria:
 - I. Eligible projects will address short and long term public infrastructure needs arising from the 2008 disaster in Illinois
 - II. Project is the best alternative to resolve the need
 - III. Demonstrated urgency of need for the infrastructure activity
 - IV. Insufficient other local, state, or federal funds either are unavailable or cannot be obtained in the time frame required
- 4. Eligibility: 105(a)(2)
- 5. National objective: Must meet either LMI Benefit a minimum of 51% low-and-moderate income* individuals (through an area-benefit, jobs, housing, or "limited clientele" project benefit); Aid in the prevention or elimination of slums and blight (either as an area benefit, or "spot basis" benefit); or Address an urgent need in the community, such as a project that can address threat to the health safety and/ or welfare of the community.

Exhibit A Federally-Designated Areas Eligible for CDBG "Ike" Assistance

The following Illinois counties were declared eligible for federal assistance in the three 2008 Disaster Declarations:

Illinois Counties Declared Under FEMA-1800-DR

1. Bureau County	9.	Kendall County
2 Cass County	10.	LaSalle County
3. Cook County	11.	Macoupin County
4. DeKalb County	12.	Montgomery County
5. DuPage County	13.	Peoria County
6. Greene County*	15.	Scott County*
7. Grundy County	15.	Will County
8. Kane County	16.	Woodford County

Illinois Counties Declared Under FEMA-1771-DR

1.	Adams County	15.	Lake County
2.	Calhoun County	15.	Lawrence County
3.	Clark County	16.	Madison County
4.	Coles County	17.	Mercer County
5.	Crawford County	18.	Monroe County
6.	Cumberland County	19.	Pike County
7.	Douglas County	20.	Randolph County
8.	Edgar County	21.	Rock Island County
9.	Greene County*	22.	St. Clair County
10.	Hancock County	23.	Scott County*
11.	Henderson County	24.	Whiteside County
12.	Jasper County	25.	Winnebago County
13.	Jersey County		

Illinois Counties Declared Under FEMA-1747-DR

1. Iroquois County

2. Livingston County

* Greene and Scott counties were declared under both the FEMA 1771 and 1800 declarations