PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

Supplemental CDBG Disaster Recovery 1800 ("Ike") Funding

Of the Supplemental Appropriations Act Public Law 110-329, 2008 Federal Register FR-5337-N-01

Through this Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) Disaster Recovery (DR) 1800 (CDBG "Ike") plan proposed amendment, Illinois is providing for greater flexibility in awarding "Ike" funds through the methods outlined below. This request reflects Illinois' commitment to utilize and award "Ike" funding in a manner that best supports the needs of Illinois residents and communities, and that can be assisted with CDBG Disaster "Ike" program funding.

Through this plan amendment, Illinois will expand the types of projects and or/ activities it can consider for Ike funding consideration under the Community Stabilization Program. To further accommodate changes in the housing market, expand opportunities to meet the needs of communities within the **Federally-Designated Areas (Exhibit A)** and adjust the program in light of the current conditions and obligations, the State of Illinois, Illinois Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity is proposing to make the following additional adjustments to the State of Illinois CDBG Disaster Recovery Action Plan.

In accordance with CDBG requirements, DCEO has posted draft changes to the Illinois CDBG Disaster Recovery Action Plan in order to provide opportunity for public comment. The proposed Amended Plan for the Community Stabilization Program is available on DCEO's website, at

http://www.illinoisbiz.biz/dceo/Bureaus/Community_Development/CDBG+Disaster+Recovery+ Programs/ .

Interested parties should feel free to submit comments in writing or via email to DCEO. Comments may be directed to: Maureen Palmer, Deputy Director, Office of Community Development, DCEO, 100 West Randolph, Suite 3-400, Chicago, IL 60601, or emailed to <u>maureen.palmer@illinois.gov</u>, with **''Public Comment to Ike Plan Amendment No.8''** in the email subject line.

Exhibit A

Federally-Designated Areas Eligible for CDBG "Ike" Assistance

The following Illinois counties were declared eligible for federal assistance in the three 2008 Disaster Declarations:

Illinois Counties Declared Under FEMA-1800-DR

1.	Bureau County
2	Cass County
3.	Cook County
4.	DeKalb County
5.	DuPage County
~	a a

- 6. Greene County*
- 7. Grundy County
- 8. Kane County

- 9. Kendall County
- 10. LaSalle County
- 11. Macoupin County
- 12. Montgomery County
- 13. Peoria County
- 14. Scott County*
- 15. Will County
- 16. Woodford County

Illinois Counties Declared Under FEMA-1771-DR

1.	Adams County	14. Lake County
2.	Calhoun County	15. Lawrence County
3.	Clark County	16. Madison County
4.	Coles County	17. Mercer County
5.	Crawford County	18. Monroe County
6.	Cumberland County	19. Pike County
7.	Douglas County	20. Randolph County
8.	Edgar County	21. Rock Island County
9.	Greene County*	22. St. Clair County
10.	Hancock County	23. Scott County*
11.	Henderson County	24. Whiteside County
12.	Jasper County	25. Winnebago County
13.	Jersey County	

Illinois Counties Declared Under FEMA-1747-DR

1. Iroquois County 2. Livingston County

* Greene and Scott counties were declared under both the FEMA 1771 and 1800 declarations