

# **Radon Testing in Illinois Daycares**

### **IMPORTANT DATES:**

January 1, 2013 – The daycare legislation went into effect January 1, 2014 – Proof of radon measurement is required every 3 years to renew or apply for a new daycare license

### Non-residential daycare facilities

If the daycare is not in a residential home, you must hire a licensed measurement professional to test the facility.

## Where to find a licensed radon measurement professional?

- · Go to www.radon.illinois.gov
- Scroll to the bottom of the page and click "List of Licensed Professionals for Commercial Buildings"

### **Home Daycares**

If you run a home daycare, you have two options to test for radon:

- 1. If you reside in the home, you may purchase a "do-it-yourself" home test kit and test.
- 2. You may hire a licensed measurement professional to test your home.

### Where to get a home test kit?

- · Go to www.radon.illinois.gov
- Local home improvement stores

### **FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS:**

### What is the typical cost of a home test kit?

They range in price from around \$10-\$30. If you purchase a kit from a local home improvement store, make sure the kit has not expired and check to see if the price includes the lab analysis.

### What if the daycare is located within a school?

If the daycare is licensed under the Illinois School Code, a school district employee may complete an online training course and pass an examination by IEMA to perform measurements in their school district buildings. The school also has the option of hiring a licensed measurement professional. Find more information at **www.radon.illinois.gov**.

### What if the test results are above the USEPA's action level of 4.0 pCi/L?

The results of the radon measurement must be posted next to the daycare's license. The law does not require a daycare to mitigate the radon levels if they are above this level. If you would like to mitigate, please visit www.radon.illinois.gov for a list of licensed mitigation professionals in Illinois.

### What is the approximate cost of hiring a licensed measurement professional?

For a home daycare, the typical cost can range from \$125-\$150. The cost for testing a facility varies with size; however, the typical cost can range from \$500 -\$1500. The daycare is responsible for the testing cost.

### Who is required to test?

Licensed day care centers, licensed day care homes, and licensed group day care homes.

For More Information, Contact: IEMA Radon Program 1-800-325-1245



Printed by the Authority of the State of Illinois ISP Central Printing Section Printed on Recycled Paper IEMA (1/13) M www.illinois.gov www.iema.il.gov

