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The following are proposed rules of possible interest to small businesses 
published in the Illinois Register.  Individuals have opportunity to express their 
support or opposition to the rule during the comment period.   NOTE: Agency 
Economic Impact Analyses are provided by rulemaking agencies and do not 
necessarily reflect the positions of the Illinois Department of Commerce and 
Economic Opportunity. To subscribe to this newsletter, sign up at 
https://lp.constantcontactpages.com/sl/Q7A4yBE.  
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ANNOUNCEMENTS 

 
6/27/25: NEXT ISSUE DELAYED TO 7/7/25 
 
Because of the upcoming holiday, the next issue of the Illinois Register will be 
published on Monday, July 7 rather than Friday, July 4.  
 
6/27/25: NOTICE OF HEARING: DEPARTMENT OF LABOR – DAY AND 
TEMPORARY LABOR SERVICES ACT, 7/7/25 2:30pm 
 
Department of Labor 
Day and Temporary Labor Services Act (56 Ill. Adm. Code 260) 
Text of Rulemaking: 49 Ill. Reg. 7232 
  
Flinn Report: 
 
The DEPARTMENT OF LABOR will hold a public hearing on proposed 
amendments to the Part titled Day and Temporary Labor Services Act (56 IAC 
260; 49 Ill Reg 7232) Monday, July 7, from 2:30 to 4 p.m. at the DOL office, 
524 S. Second St., Suite 400, Springfield. Interested persons may observe or 
participate in this hearing via Webex by registering at 
https://illinois.webex.com/weblink/register/rd8e7e2f5d1c5b62d3578d23
fe321ddcc.  Witnesses planning to present testimony should contact Anna 
Koeppel at the phone number or e-mail address below to submit their written 
testimony or request disability accommodations. This hearing concerns a 
rulemaking published in the 5/23/25 Illinois Register implementing Public Acts 
103-437 and 103-1030. These amendments reflect statutory fines for 
violations of the Act and increases in registration fees for placement agencies; 
outline provisions for complying with equal pay, hazard awareness, safety 
training and labor dispute provisions of the Act; establish processes by which 
an interested party may pursue a civil action to enforce the Act and the 
Director of DOL may attempt to resolve a complaint before the complaint is 
referred for an administrative hearing; and clarify various other requirements. 

https://labor.illinois.gov/
https://ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/056/05600260sections.html
https://www.ilsos.gov/departments/index/register/volume49/register_volume49_21.pdf#page=131
https://www.ilga.gov/commission/jcar/flinn/20250627_June%2027,%202025%20-%20Issue%2026.pdf#page=2
https://illinois.webex.com/weblink/register/rd8e7e2f5d1c5b62d3578d23fe321ddcc
https://illinois.webex.com/weblink/register/rd8e7e2f5d1c5b62d3578d23fe321ddcc
https://www.ilga.gov/legislation/publicacts/fulltext.asp?Name=103-0437
https://www.ilga.gov/legislation/publicacts/fulltext.asp?Name=103-0437
https://www.ilga.gov/legislation/publicacts/fulltext.asp?Name=103-1030
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Businesses that employ day and temporary workers and temporary worker 
placement agencies are affected by this rulemaking.  
 
Questions concerning this rulemaking or the public hearing:  
 
Anna Koeppel 
Department of Labor 
524 S. Second St., 4th Floor 
Springfield, IL 62701 
 
217-558-1270 
anna.koeppel@illinois.gov  
 

PROPOSED RULES 
 
HEALTH CARE LICENSES (6/27/25) 
 
Department of Financial and Professional Regulation 
Administrative Procedures for General Professional Regulation Under the 
Administrative Code (68 Ill. Adm. Code 1130) 
Text of Rulemaking: 49 Ill. Reg. 8507 
  
DFPR Economic Impact Analysis 

1. Small Businesses Affected 
a. Types of small businesses, small municipalities, and not-for-

profit corporations affected: Small businesses licensed through 
the Department may be affected 

b. Types of businesses subject to the proposed rule: 
54 Professional, Scientific, and Technical Services 
62 Health Care and Social Assistance 

c. Categories that the agency reasonably believes the rulemaking 
will impact include: 

ii.  regulatory requirements 
2. Small Business Compliance 

mailto:anna.koeppel@illinois.gov
https://idfpr.illinois.gov/
https://ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/068/06801130sections.html
https://www.ilsos.gov/departments/index/register/volume49/register_volume49_26.pdf#page=6
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=54
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=54
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=62
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=62


7 
 
 

a. Reporting, bookkeeping, or other procedures required for 
compliance: None 

b. Types of professional skills necessary for compliance: None 
 

Flinn Report summary 
 
The DEPARTMENT OF FINANCIAL AND PROFESSIONAL REGULATION 
proposed amendments to the Part titled Administrative Procedures for 
General Professional Regulation Under the Administrative Code (68 IAC 1130; 
49 Ill Reg 8507) concerning automatic and indefinite suspensions of health 
care licenses due to disqualifying criminal convictions. The rulemaking defines 
a "conviction" as a judgment of conviction or a sentence entered upon a guilty 
plea by the defendant or a verdict of guilty rendered in a jury trial or bench 
trial. When DFPR determines that a health care worker's license is subject to 
automatic and indefinite suspension due to a criminal conviction, the licensee 
will be notified by regular mail or e-mail at their address of record, and the 
licensee will have 20 days to send a written response contesting the action. 
DFPR will consider the response if the licensee can document that they have 
been misidentified as the individual with the criminal conviction; that the 
conviction has been vacated, overturned, or reversed or the offense has been 
pardoned; or that the conviction cited is not a disqualifying conviction for a 
health care licensee. If the licensee fails to document any of the listed grounds 
or fails to respond within 20 days after receiving notice of the intended 
suspension, DFPR will order the license suspended automatically and 
indefinitely. The rulemaking also corrects outdated information and 
inappropriate citations. Health care workers licensed by DFPR may be affected. 
 
Requests for small business impact analysis (through 7/11/25) to 
CEO.RegFlex@illinois.gov. Comments (through 8/11/25), requests for hearing 
(through 7/11/25), or questions to: 
 
Department of Financial and Professional Regulation 
Attention: Craig Cellini 
320 West Washington, 2nd Floor 
Springfield, IL 62786 

https://www.ilga.gov/commission/jcar/flinn/20250627_June%2027,%202025%20-%20Issue%2026.pdf
mailto:CEO.RegFlex@illinois.gov
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217-785-0810 
Fax: 217-557-4451 
Craig.Cellini@illinois.gov    
 
EARLY INTERVENTION PROVIDERS (6/13/25) 
 
Department of Human Services 
Early Intervention Program (89 Ill. Adm. Code 500) 
Text of Rulemaking: 49 Ill. Reg. 8044 
 
DHS Economic Impact Analysis 

1. Small Businesses Affected 
a. Types of small businesses, small municipalities, and not-for-

profit corporations affected: This rulemaking could affect small 
businesses who provide early intervention services. 

b. Types of businesses subject to the proposed rule: 
62 Health Care and Social Assistance 

c. Categories that the agency reasonably believes the rulemaking 
will impact include: 

vii.  training requirements. 
2. Small Business Compliance 

a. Reporting, bookkeeping, or other procedures required for 
compliance: None 

b. Types of professional skills necessary for compliance: None 
 

Flinn Report summary 
 
The DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES proposed amendments to Early 
Intervention Program (89 IAC 500; 49 Ill Reg 8044) that expand the definition 
of "eligible child" to include children up to age 3 who are the subject of a 
substantiated case of child abuse or neglect (in addition to children with 
developmental delays or conditions placing them at risk of developmental 
delays). The rulemaking also amends the definition of "extended services" 
(services covering a gap between the child's 3rd birthday and the start of their 

mailto:Craig.Cellini@illinois.gov
https://www.dhs.state.il.us/
https://ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/089/08900500sections.html
https://www.ilsos.gov/departments/index/register/volume49/register_volume49_24.pdf#page=6
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=62
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=62
https://www.ilga.gov/commission/jcar/flinn/20250613_June%2013,%202025%20-%20Issue%2024.pdf#page=2
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first year in preschool) in accordance with the federal Individuals with 
Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) to include children who have Individualized 
Education Programs (IEPs). 
 
Comments (through 7/28/25) or questions to: 
 
Tracie Drew, Chief 
Bureau of Administrative Rules and Procedures 
Department of Human Services 
100 South Grand Avenue East 
Harris Building, 3rd Floor 
Springfield, Illinois 62762 
 
217-785-9772 
DHS.AdministrativeRules@illinois.gov  
 
HOSPITAL LICENSING REQUIREMENTS (6/13/25) 
 
Department of Public Health 
Hospital Licensing Requirements (77 Ill. Adm. Code 250) 
Text of Rulemaking: 49 Ill. Reg. 8063 
 
DPH Economic Impact Analysis 

1. Small Businesses Affected 
a. Types of small businesses, small municipalities, and not-for-

profit corporations affected: Hospitals 
b. Types of businesses subject to the proposed rule: 

62 Health Care and Social Assistance 
c. Categories that the agency reasonably believes the rulemaking 

will impact include: 
i.   hiring and additional staffing; 
ii.  regulatory requirements; 
iii.  purchasing; 
vi.  equipment and material needs; 
vii.  training requirements; 

mailto:DHS.AdministrativeRules@illinois.gov
https://dph.illinois.gov/
https://ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/077/07700250sections.html
https://www.ilsos.gov/departments/index/register/volume49/register_volume49_24.pdf#page=25
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=62
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=62
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viii.  recordkeeping. 
2. Small Business Compliance 

a. Reporting, bookkeeping, or other procedures required for 
compliance: Administrative 

b. Types of professional skills necessary for compliance: 
Administrative, nursing, medical 

 
Flinn Report summary 
 
The DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH proposed amendments to Hospital 
Licensing Requirements (77 IAC 250; 49 Ill Reg 8063) that update notification 
requirements for emergency personnel, including police, firefighters, 
emergency medical technicians, and other ambulance personnel, who are 
exposed to a patient diagnosed at the hospital with a dangerous 
communicable or infectious disease. The rulemaking requires hospitals to 
notify these personnel within 48 hours (currently 72 hours) after the patient is 
diagnosed. Communications concerning these cases shall be treated as 
confidential medical records. Notification letters sent to a public or private 
ambulance provider shall list affected ambulance crew members and the 
communicable disease to which they were exposed, but shall not include the 
patient's name. Guidelines promulgated by the National Institute for 
Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH) are replacing the current list of 
specific diseases for which notification is provided to emergency personnel. 
When a patient with a communicable disease requiring specific precautions 
(including gastrointestinal infections such as norovirus, C. diff. or shigellosis) is 
discharged, the hospital must advise any emergency personnel who will be 
transporting the patient of precautions to be taken against transmission, 
without naming the specific disease. The rulemaking also requires hospitals to 
meet federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services requirements for 
hospital emergency preparedness; these requirements are replacing the 
specific emergency preparedness, disaster and mass casualty plan criteria 
currently listed in rule. Other changes include clarifications and updates of 
rules concerning surgical staff, operating room and anesthesia procedures, 
and on-site pharmacies; adding a statutory requirement that medical records 
be kept for at least 10 years, or up to 12 years if there is litigation involving a 

https://www.ilga.gov/commission/jcar/flinn/20250613_June%2013,%202025%20-%20Issue%2024.pdf#page=2
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patient's record; and updates of incorporated and referenced documents, 
including federal regulations and Centers for Disease Control and Prevention 
(CDC) guidelines, to the most recent editions. 
 
Comments (through 7/28/25) or questions to: 
 
Department of Public Health 
Attention: Tracey Trigillo, Rules Coordinator 
Lincoln Plaza 
524 South 2nd Street, 6th Floor 
Springfield, IL 62701 
 
217-782-1159 
dph.rules@illinois.gov  
 
VEHICLE SAFETY INSPECTION STATIONS (6/13/25) 
 
Department of Transportation  
Administrative Requirements for Official Testing Stations (92 Ill. Adm. Code 451) 
Text of Rulemaking: 49 Ill. Reg. 8127 
 
DOT Economic Impact Analysis 

1. Small Businesses Affected 
a. Types of small businesses, small municipalities, and not-for-

profit corporations affected: This rulemaking will affect small 
businesses that own or operate official testing stations and official 
mobile safety testing companies in Illinois and will provide some 
economic relief in that the Department will allow more affordable 
testing equipment. 

b. Types of businesses subject to the proposed rule: 
48-49 Transportation and Warehousing 
81 Other Services (except Public Administration) 

2. Small Business Compliance 
a. Reporting, bookkeeping, or other procedures required for 

compliance: No impact is anticipated. 

mailto:dph.rules@illinois.gov
https://idot.illinois.gov/
https://ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/092/09200451sections.html
https://www.ilsos.gov/departments/index/register/volume49/register_volume49_24.pdf#page=89
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=48-49
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=48-49
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=81
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=81
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b. Types of professional skills necessary for compliance: No impact 
is anticipated. 

 
Flinn Report summary 
 
The DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION proposed amendments to 
Administrative Requirements for Official Testing Stations (92 IAC 451; 49 Ill 
Reg 8127) expanding the scope of the Part to include Official Mobile Safety 
Testing Companies (OMSTCs) that can perform safety testing on trucks, truck 
tractors, trailers, semitrailers, and buses engaged in interstate commerce, in 
accordance with federal inspection standards. OMSTCs that are open to the 
public may only perform testing at the vehicle owner's place of business while 
private OMSTCs (established by private companies to test only the company's 
own vehicles) may perform testing at the location operated by the permitted 
owner or wherever the company's vehicles are housed. To obtain the required 
permit from DOT, Official Testing Stations (OTS) and OMSTCs must request 
the permit by email and undergo an inspection, after which they may file an 
application for a permit, accompanied by a $50 application fee and a $10,000 
bond. OTS permit applicants must submit digital photos of their testing lanes, 
while OMSTC applicants must submit digital photos of their physical business 
address and the make, model, license plate number and Vehicle Identification 
Number of each vehicle that will be used to perform safety tests. Permits are 
valid for 12 months and renewable with a $50 fee. Permits issued to a State, 
city, county or other governmental agency are exempt from all fees and from 
the bond requirement. A permit holder whose permit is revoked due to 
serious violations of DOT rules may not apply for a new permit within 12 
months after the revocation. A company that operates its own private OTS or 
OMSTC must have at least 75 vehicles in its fleet or perform at least 75 
inspections per year, otherwise its permit will be cancelled. An OMSTC must, 
with at least 48 hours' notice, provide to DOT upon request a list of the 
vehicles it is scheduled to test, the date and time of the tests, and the names 
and business addresses of the vehicles' owners. The rulemaking also 
establishes new door and lane size requirements for new OTSs that are issued 
permits on or after 7/1/25; updates requirements for OTS/OMSTC owners and 
Certified Safety Testers (CSTs); updates specifications for Certificates of Safety 

https://www.ilga.gov/commission/jcar/flinn/20250613_June%2013,%202025%20-%20Issue%2024.pdf#page=1
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(COS) applied after vehicles pass inspection and for Vehicle Inspection 
Reports; and repeals an Appendix that specifies authorized inspection 
equipment by type and brand. Those affected by this rulemaking include 
owners and employees of Official Testing Stations and mobile safety testing 
companies and businesses which own vehicles that are subject to safety 
inspections. 
 
Comments (through 7/28/25) or questions to: 
 
Julita Kuzminaite 
Rules Manager 
Illinois Department of Transportation 
Office of Chief Counsel 
2300 South Dirksen Parkway, Room 313 
Springfield, Illinois 62764 
 
217-524-2638 
DOT.AdminRules@illinois.gov  
 
BUILDING CODES (6/6/25) 
 
Capital Development Board 
Illinois Energy Codes (71 Ill. Adm. Code 600) 
Text of Rulemaking: 49 Ill. Reg. 7704 
 
CDB Economic Impact Analysis 

1. Small Businesses Affected 
a. Types of small businesses, small municipalities, and not-for-

profit corporations affected: Those that are constructing, 
renovating, or adding to commercial and residential building 
structures or issuing building permit applications 

b. Types of businesses subject to the proposed rule: 
23 Construction 
54 Professional, Scientific, and Technical Services 

mailto:DOT.AdminRules@illinois.gov
https://cdb.illinois.gov/
https://ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/071/07100600sections.html
https://www.ilsos.gov/departments/index/register/volume49/register_volume49_23.pdf#page=6
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=23
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=23
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=54
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=54
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c. Categories that the agency reasonably believes the rulemaking 
will impact include: 

ii.  regulatory requirements; 
vii.  training requirements. 

2. Small Business Compliance 
a. Reporting, bookkeeping, or other procedures required for 

compliance: Those necessary for regulatory compliance 
b. Types of professional skills necessary for compliance: Licensed 

Design Professionals 
 
Flinn Report summary 
 
The CAPITAL DEVELOPMENT BOARD proposed amendments to the Part titled 
Illinois Energy Codes (71 IAC 600; 49 Ill Reg 7704) updating the 
incorporated/referenced version of the International Energy Conservation 
Code (IECC) in this Part from the 2021 to the 2024 edition and updating 
Illinois-specific adaptations to the IECC. Adaptations to the 2024 IECC listed in 
Appendix A include: requiring construction documents to show any additional 
electric infrastructure (e.g., branch circuits, panel capacity, space for future 
electrical equipment) being installed in anticipation of future power needs; 
new requirements for horticultural lighting, non-commercial cooking and 
clothes drying, and lowcapacity space heating and water heating; defining a 
"residential building" as any building 3 stories or fewer above ground level 
that includes one or more permanent dwelling units, except in municipalities 
of 1 million or more population, where the threshold is 4 stories or fewer; and 
updating energy efficiency credit requirements; various technical sections 
related to building envelope; total building performance requirements; 
additions, alterations and repairs of existing buildings; alternative compliance 
methods; and duct and ventilation requirements for residential buildings. 
Building construction businesses and local governments that have adopted 
the CDB energy codes are affected by this rulemaking. 
 
Comments (through 7/21/25) or questions to: 
 
Robert Coslow 

https://www.ilga.gov/commission/jcar/flinn/20250606_June%206,%202025%20-%20Issue%2023.pdf#page=1
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Professional Services Administrator 
Capital Development Board 
401 S. Spring Street 
3rd Floor Stratton Building 
Springfield, Illinois 62706 
 
217-685-4079 
CDB.EnergyCodes@illinois.gov  
 
HOME HEALTH/HOME SERVICES/HOME NURSING AGENCIES (6/6/25) 
 
Department of Public Health 
Home Health, Health Services, and Home Nursing Agency Code (77 Ill. Adm. 
Code 245) 
Text of Rulemaking: 49 Ill. Reg. 7878 
 
DPH Economic Impact Analysis 

1. Small Businesses Affected 
a. Types of small businesses, small municipalities, and not-for-

profit corporations affected: Home health agencies and home 
nursing agencies 

b. Types of businesses subject to the proposed rule: 
62 Health Care and Social Assistance 

2. Small Business Compliance 
a. Reporting, bookkeeping, or other procedures required for 

compliance: Home health and home nursing agencies will be 
required to maintain accurate records of home health aides to 
whom RN duties are delegated, and the training of those aides. 

b. Types of professional skills necessary for compliance: Licensed 
nursing 

 
Flinn Report summary  
 
The DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH proposed amendments to Home 
Health, Home Services, and Home Nursing Agency Code (77 IAC 245; 49 Ill 

mailto:CDB.EnergyCodes@illinois.gov
https://dph.illinois.gov/
https://ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/077/07700245sections.html
https://ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/077/07700245sections.html
https://www.ilsos.gov/departments/index/register/volume49/register_volume49_23.pdf#page=180
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=62
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=62
https://www.ilga.gov/commission/jcar/flinn/20250606_June%206,%202025%20-%20Issue%2023.pdf#page=1
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Reg 7878) that allow registered nurses to delegate skilled nursing activities, 
tasks, or interventions to other RNs, licensed practical nurses, and home health 
aides in specific situations. The rulemaking aligns this Part with the provisions 
of the Nurse Practice Act and nursing licensure rules (68 IAC 1300) regarding 
RN delegation. An RN may delegate skilled nursing tasks only with written 
informed consent in advance from the patient or client, and also has the right 
to refuse to delegate or to rescind delegation of any task. An RN delegating a 
task to an LPN or home health aide must instruct them regarding how to 
perform the task, potential adverse effects, and how to report and document 
any adverse effects, and must ensure that the LPN or aide demonstrates 
competency in performing the task. Home health and home nursing agencies 
must have written policies and procedures for RN delegation that include 
review of any adverse events such as medication errors or drug reactions. 
Home health and home nursing agencies that employ RNs are affected. 
 
Comments (through 7/21/25) or questions to: 
 
Department of Public Health 
Attention: Tracey Trigillo, Rules Coordinator 
Lincoln Plaza 
524 South 2nd Street, 6th Floor 
Springfield, IL 62701 
 
217-782-1159 
dph.rules@illinois.gov  
 
NEWBORN SCREENING (6/6/25) 
 
Department of Public Health 
Newborn and Infant Screening and Treatment Code (77 Ill. Adm. Code 661) 
Text of Rulemaking: 49 Ill. Reg. 7922 
 
DPH Economic Impact Analysis 

1. Small Businesses Affected 

mailto:dph.rules@illinois.gov
https://dph.illinois.gov/
https://ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/077/07700661sections.html
https://www.ilsos.gov/departments/index/register/volume49/register_volume49_23.pdf#page=224
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a. Types of small businesses, small municipalities, and not-for-
profit corporations affected: Hospitals, other facilities, and entities 
that submit newborn screens to the Department will be required 
to comply with updated requirements. 

b. Types of businesses subject to the proposed rule: 
54 Professional, Scientific, and Technical Services 
62 Health Care and Social Assistance 

2. Small Business Compliance 
a. Reporting, bookkeeping, or other procedures required for 

compliance: Nominal administrative documentation may be 
required. 

b. Types of professional skills necessary for compliance: None 
 
Flinn Report summary  
 
DPH also proposed amendments to Newborn and Infant Screening and 
Treatment Code (77 IAC 661; 49 Ill Reg 7922) that add guanidinoacetate 
methyltransferase (GAMT) deficiency and metachromatic leukodystrophy 
(MLD) to the list of conditions for which newborns are screened at birth and 
increase the screening test fee from $128 to $411.35. (DPH states that the 
increase is necessary to maintain program operations and address unmet 
needs.) Hospitals and other facilities that submit newborn screening tests to 
DPH are affected. Questions/requests for copies/comments on the 2 DPH 
rulemakings through 7/21/25: Tracey Trigillo, DPH, 524 S. Second St., 6th 
Floor, Springfield IL 62701, 217-782- 1159, dph.rules@illinois.gov 
COMMUNITY COLLEGES The ILLINOIS COMMUNITY COLLEGE BOARD 
proposed amendments to Administration of the Illinois Public Community 
College Act (23 IAC 1501; 49 Ill Reg 7743) concerning community college 
scholarships for Lincoln's Challenge Academy graduates. (The Academy, 
located in Rantoul and administered by the Department of Military Affairs, 
provides quasi-military-style education and life skills training for youth ages 
15½ to 18, including the opportunity to earn a State of Illinois High School 
Diploma.) The rulemaking increases the amount of the scholarship from 
$1,000 to $2,000 per semester for a maximum of 4 semesters, and allows the 
scholarship to be deferred for up to two semesters if a deferral application is 

https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=54
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=54
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=62
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=62
https://www.ilga.gov/commission/jcar/flinn/20250606_June%206,%202025%20-%20Issue%2023.pdf#page=2
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submitted by August 10 for the fall semester and January 10 for the spring 
semester. (Current rule requires students to begin using the scholarship in the 
semester following high school graduation.) Students who leave the Academy 
and earn their diploma from an Illinois public high school may also apply for 
the scholarship. Applications and transcripts required for renewal of a Lincoln's 
Challenge scholarship must be submitted by August 10 (currently, July 1) for 
the fall semester. 
 
Comments (through 7/21/25) or questions to: 
 
Tracey Trigillo 
Department of Public Health 
524 S. Second Street, 6th Floor 
Springfield, IL 62701 
 
217-782-1159 
dph.rules@illinois.gov  
 
HOSPICES AND HOME HEALTH AGENCIES (5/30/25) (2) 
 
Department of Public Health 
Home Health, Health Services, and Home Nursing Agency Code (77 Ill. Adm. 
Code 245; 49 Ill. Reg. 7485) and Hospice Programs (77 Ill. Adm. Code 280; 49 Ill. 
Reg. 7490) 
Texts of the Rulemakings are linked from Illinois Register citations above 
 
DPH Economic Impact Analysis 

1. Small Businesses Affected 
a. Types of small businesses, small municipalities, and not-for-

profit corporations affected: Home health agencies and hospice 
programs 

b. Types of businesses subject to the proposed rule: 
62 Health Care and Social Assistance 

2. Small Business Compliance 

mailto:dph.rules@illinois.gov
https://dph.illinois.gov/
https://ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/077/07700245sections.html
https://ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/077/07700245sections.html
https://www.ilsos.gov/departments/index/register/volume49/register_volume49_22.pdf#page=100
https://ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/077/07700280sections.html
https://www.ilsos.gov/departments/index/register/volume49/register_volume49_22.pdf#page=105
https://www.ilsos.gov/departments/index/register/volume49/register_volume49_22.pdf#page=105
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=62
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=62
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a. Reporting, bookkeeping, or other procedures required for 
compliance: None 

b. Types of professional skills necessary for compliance: None 
 
Flinn Report summary  
 
The DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH proposed amendments to Home 
Health, Home Services, and Home Nursing Agency Code (77 IAC 245; 49 Ill 
Reg 7485) and Hospice Programs (77 IAC 280; 49 Ill Reg 7490) implementing 
PA 103-734. The PA and these rulemakings prohibit DPH from charging 
licensing fees to certified local health departments for licensure of home 
health agencies or hospice programs. The Part 245 rulemaking also adds 
existing statutory language that imposes the same prohibition with regard to 
home nursing agencies, home nursing placement agencies, and home services 
placement agencies. Local health departments are affected.  
 
Comments (through 7/14/25) or questions to: 
 
Tracey Trigillo 
Department of Public Health 
524 S. Second Street, 6th Floor 
Springfield, IL 62701 
 
217-782-1159 
dph.rules@illinois.gov  
 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS: INCOME TAX (5/30/25) 
 
Department of Revenue 
Income Tax (86 Ill. Adm. Code 100) 
Text of Rulemaking: 49 Ill. Reg. 7503 
 
DFPR Economic Impact Analysis 

1. Small Businesses Affected 

https://www.ilga.gov/commission/jcar/flinn/20250530_May%2030,%202025%20-%20Issue%2022.pdf#page=3
https://www.ilga.gov/legislation/publicacts/fulltext.asp?Name=103-0734
mailto:dph.rules@illinois.gov
https://tax.illinois.gov/
https://ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/086/08600100sections.html
https://www.ilsos.gov/departments/index/register/volume49/register_volume49_22.pdf#page=118
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a. Types of small businesses, small municipalities, and not-for-
profit corporations affected: Small businesses that operate a bank 
or other financial institution. 

b. Types of businesses subject to the proposed rule: 
52 Finance and Insurance 

c. Categories that the agency reasonably believes the rulemaking 
will impact include: 

viii.  recordkeeping. 
2. Small Business Compliance 

a. Reporting, bookkeeping, or other procedures required for 
compliance: General accounting and tax preparation. 

b. Types of professional skills necessary for compliance: General 
accounting and tax preparation.  

 
Flinn Report summary 
 
The DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE proposed amendments to Income Tax (86 IAC 
100; 49 Ill Reg 7503) implementing PA 103-592, which changes the 
apportionment method for investment income of financial organizations for 
tax years ending on or after 12/31/24. This rulemaking also updates the 
definition of a small loan company to mean an entity that makes loans of no 
more than $40,000 (currently $25,000) for terms of no more than 181 
(currently 121) months, and updates other references and citations. 
Comments (through 7/14/25) or questions to: 
 
Brian Fliflet 
Illinois Department of Revenue 
Legal Services Office 
101 West Jefferson 
Springfield, Illinois 62794 
 
217-782-2844 
REV.GCO@illinois.gov  
 
  

https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=52
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=52
https://www.ilga.gov/commission/jcar/flinn/20250530_May%2030,%202025%20-%20Issue%2022.pdf#page=3
https://www.ilga.gov/legislation/publicacts/fulltext.asp?Name=103-0592
mailto:REV.GCO@illinois.gov
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CONSUMER LENDERS (5/23/25) (2) 
 
Department of Financial and Professional Regulation 
Consumer Installment Loan Act (38 Ill. Adm. Code 110; 49 Ill. Reg. 7187) and 
Sales Finance Agency Act (38 Ill. Adm. Code 160; 49 Ill. Reg. 7197) 
Texts of the Rulemakings are linked from Illinois Register citations above 
 
DFPR Economic Impact Analysis 

3. Small Businesses Affected 
a. Types of small businesses, small municipalities, and not-for-

profit corporations affected: Part 110: Small businesses licensed 
under the Consumer Installment Loan Act [205 ILCS 670] may be 
affected. There are approximately 164 entities licensed pursuant to 
the Act. Many licensees are small businesses, but the exact 
number is unknown. ■ Part 160: Small businesses licensed under 
the Sales Finance Agency Act [205 ILCS 660] may be affected. 
There are approximately 174 entities licensed pursuant to the Act. 
Many licensees are small businesses, but the exact number is 
unknown. 

b. Types of businesses subject to the proposed rule: 
52 Finance and Insurance 

c. Categories that the agency reasonably believes the rulemaking 
will impact include: 

ii.  regulatory requirements; 
iv.   insurance changes; and 
viii.  recordkeeping. 

4. Small Business Compliance 
a. Reporting, bookkeeping, or other procedures required for 

compliance: Licensees must have procedures for providing 
refunds.  

b. Types of professional skills necessary for compliance: Part 110: 
The types of professional skills necessary for compliance are 
generally business administration and knowledge of a Consumer 
Installment Loan Act licensee. Part 160: The types of professional 
skills necessary for compliance are generally business 

https://idfpr.illinois.gov/
https://ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/038/03800110sections.html
https://www.ilsos.gov/departments/index/register/volume49/register_volume49_21.pdf#page=86
https://ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/038/03800160sections.html
https://www.ilsos.gov/departments/index/register/volume49/register_volume49_21.pdf#page=96
https://ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs3.asp?ActID=1204&ChapterID=20
https://ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs3.asp?ActID=1202&ChapterID=20
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=52
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=52
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administration and knowledge of a Sales Finance Agency Act 
licensee. ■ The change in methodology for calculating refunds is 
unlikely to have a negative economic impact on small businesses. 
Regardless, the Department has not identified any less intrusive or 
less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of the 
proposed rules or amendments consistent with the stated 
objectives of the applicable Act and the proposed rulemaking.  

 
Flinn Report summary 
 
The DEPARTMENT OF FINANCIAL AND PROFESSIONAL REGULATION 
proposed amendments to Consumer Installment Loan Act (38 IAC 110; 49 Ill 
Reg 7187) and Sales Finance Agency Act (38 IAC 160; 49 Ill Reg 7197) that 
require credit insurance refunds on loans that have been paid off, canceled, 
refinanced, renewed, or reduced to judgment to be computed according to 
the methodology prescribed in Department of Insurance regulations at 50 IAC 
1053.10. Consumer installment lenders, financing agencies, and their 
customers are affected. 
 
Comments (through 7/7/25) or questions to: 
 
Department of Financial and Professional Regulation 
Attention: Craig Cellini 
320 West Washington, 2nd Floor 
Springfield, IL 62786 
 
217-785-0810 
Fax: 217-557-4451 
Craig.Cellini@illinois.gov  
 
DAY & TEMPORARY LABOR (5/23/25) 
 
Department of Labor 
Day and Temporary Labor Services Act (56 Ill. Adm. Code 260) 
Text of Rulemaking: 49 Ill. Reg. 7232 

https://www.ilga.gov/commission/jcar/flinn/20250523_May%2023,%202025%20-%20Issue%2021.pdf#page=2
mailto:Craig.Cellini@illinois.gov
https://labor.illinois.gov/
https://ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/056/05600260sections.html
https://www.ilsos.gov/departments/index/register/volume49/register_volume49_21.pdf#page=131
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DOL Economic Impact Analysis 

1. Small Businesses Affected 
a. Types of small businesses, small municipalities, and not-for-

profit corporations affected: These rules will affect small day and 
temporary labor service agencies and third party clients. 

b. Types of businesses subject to the proposed rule: 
11 Agriculture 
21 Mining 
22 Utilities 
23 Construction 
31-33 Manufacturing 
42 Wholesale Trade 
44-45 Retail Trade 
48-49 Transportation and Warehousing 
51 Information 
52 Finance and Insurance 
53 Real Estate Rental and Leasing 
54 Professional, Scientific, and Technical Services 
55 Management of Companies and Enterprises 
56 Administrative and Support and Waste 

Management and Remediation 
61 Educational Services 
62 Health Care and Social Assistance 
71 Arts, Entertainment, and Recreation  
72 Accommodation and Food Services  
81 Other Services (except Public Administration) 
92 Public Administration 

c. Categories that the agency reasonably believes the rulemaking 
will impact include: 

i.  hiring and additional staffing; 
v.  licensing fees; 
vii.   training requirements; 
viii.  recordkeeping; 
ix.  compensation and benefits; or 

https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=11
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=11
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=21
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=21
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=22
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=22
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=23
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=23
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=31-33
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=31-33
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=42
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=42
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=44-45
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=44-45
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=48-49
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=48-49
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=51
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=51
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=52
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=52
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=53
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=53
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=54
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=54
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=55
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=55
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=56
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=56
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=56
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=61
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=61
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=62
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=62
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=71
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=71
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=72
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=72
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=81
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=81
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=92
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=92
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x.  other potentially impacted categories. 
2. Small Business Compliance 

a. Reporting, bookkeeping, or other procedures required for 
compliance: These rules will affect small day and temporary labor 
service agencies and third party clients 

b. Types of professional skills necessary for compliance: Day and 
temporary labor service agencies and third party clients must 
maintain documentation and records relating to employee 
compensation, labor disputes, placement fees, safety hazards, and 
safety trainings. 

 
Flinn Report summary 
 
The DEPARTMENT OF LABOR proposed amendments to the Part titled Day 
and Temporary Labor Services Act (56 IAC 260; 49 Ill Reg 7232) implementing 
Public Acts 103-437 and 103-1030. These amendments establish a process by 
which an interested party (an organization that monitors or is attentive to 
compliance with public or worker safety laws, wage requirements, or other 
statutory requirements) may pursue a civil action to enforce the Act, and add 
definitions for new terms used throughout the Part, including "clerical" work, 
"hazard", "interested party", "labor dispute", and "right to sue letter." If a 
placement agency or client employer fails to contest or respond to a 
complaint from an interested party within 180 days, the interested party may 
pursue civil action and DOL will issue a right to sue letter to that party. DOL 
will also issue a right to sue letter in instances where it believes the dispute is 
outside its administrative jurisdiction. The Director of DOL may attempt to 
resolve a complaint by conference, voluntary mediation, conciliation, or 
persuasion before the complaint is referred for an administrative hearing. 
Statutory penalties of $100 to $18,000 for a first violation of the Act and $250 
to $7,500 for each subsequent violation are reflected in this rulemaking. DOL 
may cite separate violations for each day/temporary employee affected by a 
violation and when determining penalties, may consider factors such as 
economic harm to affected workers, the agency or client's past history of 
violations, and efforts to correct the violations. Other provisions add email 
addresses and photo IDs to the list of items a placement agency must include 

https://www.ilga.gov/commission/jcar/flinn/20250523_May%2023,%202025%20-%20Issue%2021.pdf#page=1
https://www.ilga.gov/legislation/publicacts/fulltext.asp?Name=103-0437
https://www.ilga.gov/legislation/publicacts/fulltext.asp?Name=103-1030
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when registering with the Department; reflect statutory increases in 
registration fees (from $1,000 to $3,000 per agency and from $250 to $750 per 
branch office); and outline provisions for day and temporary labor service 
agencies and client employers to comply with the equal pay, hazard 
awareness, safety training, and labor dispute provisions of the Act. Workers 
must also be notified if their placement agency will charge a placement fee to 
their client employer should the employer want to hire them directly; the 
rulemaking includes examples of how a placement fee may be calculated 
according to statutory requirements. The rulemaking allows a circuit court to 
revoke, suspend, or deny a day and temporary labor service agency's 
registration; clarifies procedures for appealing a DOL finding; clarifies 
recordkeeping requirements; and codifies the process for service of 
documents. Businesses that employ day and temporary workers and 
temporary worker placement agencies are affected. 
 
Comments (through 7/7/25) or questions to: 
 
Anna Koeppel 
Legislative and Policy Director 
Illinois Department of Labor 
524 South 2nd Street, Suite 400 
Springfield, Illinois 62701 
 
217-558-1270 
Anna.Koeppel@illinois.gov  
DOL.Rules@illinois.gov 
 
PROCUREMENT PREFERENCES (5/16/25) 
 
Chief Procurement Officer for General Services 
Chief Procurement Officer for General Services Standard Procurement (44 Ill. 
Adm. Code 1) 
Text of Rulemaking: 49 Ill. Reg. 6643 
 
  

mailto:Anna.Koeppel@illinois.gov
mailto:DOL.Rules@illinois.gov
https://cpo-general.illinois.gov/
https://ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/044/04400001sections.html
https://ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/044/04400001sections.html
https://www.ilsos.gov/departments/index/register/volume49/register_volume49_20.pdf#page=6
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CPO-GS Economic Impact Analysis 
1. Small Businesses Affected 

a. Types of small businesses, small municipalities, and not-for-
profit corporations affected: The proposed amendment may have 
an impact on small businesses as defined in Section 1-75 of the 
Illinois Administrative Procedure Act [5 ILCS 100/1-75]. These 
entities may submit comments in writing to the Chief 
Procurement Officer for General Services at the above address in 
accordance with the regulatory flexibility provisions in Section 5-
30 of the Illinois Administrative Procedure Act [5 ILCS 100/5-30]. 
These entities shall indicate their status as a small business as part 
of any written comments they submit to the Chief Procurement 
Officer for General Services. 

b. Types of businesses subject to the proposed rule: 
23 Construction 

c. Categories that the agency reasonably believes the rulemaking 
will impact include: 

ii.  regulatory requirements; 
iii.  purchasing; 
iv.   training requirements 
viii.  recordkeeping; 
x.  other potentially impacted categories. 

2. Small Business Compliance 
a. Reporting, bookkeeping, or other procedures required for 

compliance: Agencies subject to the jurisdiction of the Chief 
Procurement Officer for General Services conducting construction 
procurements may be required to retain additional documentation 
of the process used to conduct each procurement. 

b. Types of professional skills necessary for compliance: None 
 
Flinn Report summary 
 
The CHIEF PROCUREMENT OFFICER FOR GENERAL SERVICES proposed 
amendments to the Part titled Chief Procurement Officer for General Services 
Standard Procurement (44 IAC 1; 49 Ill Reg 6643) that define "headquartered 

https://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/documents/000501000K1-75.htm
https://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/documents/000501000K5-30.htm
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=23
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=23
https://www.ilga.gov/commission/jcar/flinn/20250516_May%2016,%202025%20-%20Issue%2020.pdf
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in Illinois" for purposes of determining whether a construction or 
construction-related professional services business is eligible for the 
procurement preferences granted to Illinois businesses. "Headquartered in 
Illinois" means having a physical location, excluding job site trailers, within the 
State where executives for the business or high-level officers for a corporation 
direct, control, and coordinate the business' or corporation's activities. A 
business or corporation that has been headquartered in Illinois, subject to 
Illinois taxes, and providing construction or construction-related services for at 
least one year before an invitation for a bid or notice of contract opportunity 
is first advertised will qualify as an Illinois business if it bids on that contract. 
The rulemaking also clarifies that a foreign corporation duly authorized to 
transact business in Illinois will qualify as an Illinois business for this purpose if 
it has a bona fide establishment within the State where it is operating, 
headquartered, and has been performing construction or construction-related 
professional services for at least one year before an invitation for a bid or 
notice of contract opportunity is first advertised. Construction and 
construction-related businesses are affected. 
 
Comments (through 6/30/25) or questions to: 
 
Ellen Morris, General Counsel 
Chief Procurement Office for General Services 
300 West Jefferson 
Room 202B Jefferson Terrace 
Springfield, IL 62702 
 
217-685-4662 
Ellen.Morris@Illinois.gov  
 
SALES TAX (5/16/25) 
 
Department of Revenue 
Retailers’ Occupation Tax (86 Ill. Adm. Code 130) 
Text of Rulemaking: 49 Ill. Reg. 6661 
 

mailto:Ellen.Morris@Illinois.gov
https://tax.illinois.gov/
https://ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/086/08600130sections.html
https://www.ilsos.gov/departments/index/register/volume49/register_volume49_20.pdf#page=24
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DOR Economic Impact Analysis 
1. Small Businesses Affected 

a. Types of small businesses, small municipalities, and not-for-
profit corporations affected: A small business, small municipality, 
or not for profit corporation that rents or leases tangible personal 
property to customers would be affected. 

b. Types of businesses subject to the proposed rule: 
23 Construction 
44-45 Retail Trade 
53 Real Estate Rental and Leasing 
56 Administrative and Support and Waste 

Management and Remediation Services 
71 Arts, Entertainment, and Recreation 
72 Accommodation and Food Services 
81 Other Services (except Public Administration) 
 

c. Categories that the agency reasonably believes the rulemaking 
will impact include: 

ii.  regulatory requirements; 
iii.  purchasing; 
vi.   equipment and material needs; 
viii.  recordkeeping; 
x.  other potentially impacted categories. 

2. Small Business Compliance 
a. Reporting, bookkeeping, or other procedures required for 

compliance: Basic accounting and computer skills. 
b. Types of professional skills necessary for compliance: Basic 

accounting and computer skills. 
 
Flinn Report summary 
 
The DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE proposed amendments to Retailers' 
Occupation Tax (86 IAC 130; 49 Ill Reg 6661) implementing Article 75 of Public 
Act 103-592, which imposes Retailers' Occupation Tax on leases of tangible 
personal property beginning 1/1/25. The rulemaking clarifies that this change 

https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=23
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=23
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=44-45
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=44-45
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=53
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=53
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=56
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=56
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=56
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=71
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=71
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=72
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=72
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=81
https://www.naics.com/six-digit-naics/?v=2022&code=81
https://www.ilga.gov/commission/jcar/flinn/20250516_May%2016,%202025%20-%20Issue%2020.pdf
https://www.ilga.gov/legislation/publicacts/fulltext.asp?Name=103-0592
https://www.ilga.gov/legislation/publicacts/fulltext.asp?Name=103-0592
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does not apply to leases of motor vehicles, watercraft, aircraft, and semitrailers 
that are required to be registered with an agency of this State. This rulemaking 
also implements PA 98-628, which provides that the taxable "selling price" of 
first division and certain second division motor vehicles sold incident to the 
contemporaneous long-term lease of those motor vehicles is equal to the 
amount due under the lease contract, rather than the amount the lessor pays 
the seller for the motor vehicle. Businesses that sell or lease motor vehicles, 
watercraft, aircraft, and semitrailers are affected. 
 
Comments (through 6/30/25) or questions to: 
 
Samuel J. Moore 
Associate Counsel 
Illinois Department of Revenue 
Legal Services Office 
101 West Jefferson 
Springfield, Illinois 62702 
 
217-782-7055 
REV.GCO@illinois.gov  
 
  

https://www.ilga.gov/legislation/publicacts/fulltext.asp?Name=098-0628
mailto:REV.GCO@illinois.gov
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RECENTLY ADOPTED RULES 

 
SALES TAXES (6/27/25) (4) 
 
Department of Revenue 
Retailers’ Occupation Tax (86 Ill. Adm. Code 130; proposed 49 Ill. Reg. 1444; 
adopted 49 Ill. Reg. 8586); Leveling the Playing Field for Illinois Retail Act (86 Ill. 
Adm. Code 131; proposed 49 Ill. Reg. 1468; adopted 49 Ill. Reg. 8610); Use Tax 
(86 Ill. Adm. Code 150; proposed 49 Ill. Reg. 1498; adopted 49 Ill. Reg. 8640); 
and Home Rule Municipal Retailers’ Occupation Tax (86 Ill. Adm. Code 270; 
proposed 49 Ill. Reg. 1514; adopted 49 Ill. Reg. 8655) 
Effective 6/13/25 
 
Flinn Report summary 
 
The DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE adopted amendments to the Parts titled 
Retailers' Occupation Tax (86 IAC 130; proposed at 49 Ill Reg 1444, adopted at 
49 Ill Reg 8586), Leveling the Playing Field for Illinois Retail Act (86 IAC 131; 
proposed at 49 Ill Reg 1468, adopted at 49 Ill Reg 8610), Use Tax (86 IAC 150; 
proposed at 49 Ill Reg 1498, adopted at 49 Ill Reg 8640), and Home Rule 
Municipal Retailers' Occupation Tax (86 IAC 270; proposed at 49 Ill Reg 1514, 
adopted at 49 Ill Reg 8655), all effective 6/13/25, implementing Public Act 
103-983. The PA and these rulemakings change the tax obligation for retailers 
that maintain a place of business in this State and make sales to Illinois 
customers from outside of this State. Prior to 1/1/25, these sales incurred use 
tax only. On and after 1/1/25, these retailers will incur destination-based 
retailers' occupation tax on these sales. The Part 270 rulemaking additionally 
implements PA 103-592, which applies the home rule sales tax to leases of 
tangible personal property made on and after 1/1/25. Retailers who pay these 
taxes may be affected. 
 
  

https://tax.illinois.gov/
https://ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/086/08600130sections.html
https://www.ilsos.gov/departments/index/register/volume49/register_volume49_6.pdf#page=73
https://www.ilsos.gov/departments/index/register/volume49/register_volume49_26.pdf#page=85
https://ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/086/08600131sections.html
https://ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/086/08600131sections.html
https://www.ilsos.gov/departments/index/register/volume49/register_volume49_6.pdf#page=97
https://www.ilsos.gov/departments/index/register/volume49/register_volume49_26.pdf#page=109
https://ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/086/08600150sections.html
https://www.ilsos.gov/departments/index/register/volume49/register_volume49_6.pdf#page=127
https://www.ilsos.gov/departments/index/register/volume49/register_volume49_26.pdf#page=139
https://ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/086/08600270sections.html
https://www.ilsos.gov/departments/index/register/volume49/register_volume49_6.pdf#page=143
https://www.ilsos.gov/departments/index/register/volume49/register_volume49_26.pdf#page=154
https://www.ilga.gov/commission/jcar/flinn/20250627_June%2027,%202025%20-%20Issue%2026.pdf#page=3
https://www.ilga.gov/legislation/publicacts/fulltext.asp?Name=103-0983
https://www.ilga.gov/legislation/publicacts/fulltext.asp?Name=103-0983
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Questions/requests for copies of rulemaking to: 
 
Alexis K. Overstreet 
Deputy General Counsel 
Legal Services Office 
Illinois Department of Revenue 
101 West Jefferson 
Springfield, Illinois 62794 
 
217-782-7055 
REV.GCO@illinois.gov  
 
 
GENETIC COUNSELING (6/20/25) 
 
Department of Financial and Professional Regulation 
Genetic Counselor Licensing Act (68 Ill. Adm. Code 1251) 
Text of Rulemaking: Proposed 49 Ill. Reg. 1227; Adopted 49 Ill. Reg. 8307 
Effective 6/5/25 
 
Flinn Report summary 
 
The DEPARTMENT OF FINANCIAL AND PROFESSIONAL REGULATION adopted 
amendments to the Part titled Genetic Counselor Licensing Act (68 IAC 1251; 
proposed at 49 Ill Reg 1227) effective 6/5/25 at 49 Ill Reg 8307, aligning the 
Part with PA 103-763 (a sunset renewal of the Act, with amendments, that 
expires on 1/1/30). The rulemaking allows genetic counselors from outside 
Illinois to practice in Illinois for up to 30 days per year if they are certified by 
either the American Board of Genetic Counseling (ABGC) or American Board of 
Medical Genetics and Genomics (ABMGG) and are licensed in their home state 
if that state licenses genetic counselors. An out-of-state genetic counselor 
must obtain Illinois licensure if the counselor intends to practice in Illinois for 
more than 30 days per year. Temporary 24-month licenses that allow 
supervised practice while the licensee is awaiting an opportunity to take the 
national certification exam will expire when the license holder receives a full 

mailto:REV.GCO@illinois.gov
https://idfpr.illinois.gov/
https://ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/068/06801251sections.html
https://www.ilsos.gov/departments/index/register/volume49/register_volume49_5.pdf#page=6
https://www.ilsos.gov/departments/index/register/volume49/register_volume49_25.pdf#page=25
https://www.ilga.gov/commission/jcar/flinn/20250620_June%2020,%202025%20-%20Issue%2025.pdf#page=3
https://www.ilga.gov/legislation/publicacts/fulltext.asp?Name=103-0763
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license or has failed the certification exam twice (previously, once). After the 
first exam failure, a temporary license holder may practice only under the 
supervision of a licensed genetic counselor with at least 5 years' experience or 
a physician with at least 5 years' experience in genetic counseling, and must 
take the next available certification exam. Failure to take the next available 
exam invalidates the temporary license. Other provisions require proof of 
current ABGC or ABMGG certification for license renewal and for licensure by 
endorsement; institute a procedure for restoring a license from disciplinary 
status; define unprofessional conduct and incorporate the National Society of 
Genetic Counselors' code of ethics; and include sexual harassment prevention 
and implicit bias awareness training (which DFPR requires for all healthcare 
related licensees) in the required continuing education for license renewal or 
restoration. Changes since 1st Notice include correcting references to 
genomics, adding examples of unprofessional conduct, and clarifying 
circumstances under which a genetic counselor should refer clients to another 
genetic counselor. Genetic counselors and their employers are affected. 
 
This rulemaking was changed between proposal and adoption. A summary of 
the changes can be found in item 11 of the Notice of Adopted Amendment. 
 
Questions/requests for copies of rulemaking to: 
 
Department of Financial and Professional Regulation 
Attention: Craig Cellini 
320 West Washington, 2nd Floor 
Springfield, Illinois 62786 
 
217-785-0810 
Fax: 217-557-4451 
Craig.Cellini@illinois.gov 
 
LANDSCAPING (6/20/25) 
 
Department of Financial and Professional Regulation 
Landscape Architecture Registration Act (68 Ill. Adm. Code 1275) 

https://www.ilsos.gov/departments/index/register/volume49/register_volume49_25.pdf#page=25
mailto:Craig.Cellini@illinois.gov
https://idfpr.illinois.gov/
https://ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/068/06801275sections.html
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Text of Rulemaking: proposed 48 Ill. Reg. 18059; adopted 49 Ill. Reg. 8323 
Effective 6/5/25 
 
Flinn Report summary 
 
DFPR adopted amendments to the Part titled Landscape Architecture 
Registration Act (68 IAC 1275; proposed at 48 Ill Reg 18059) effective 6/5/25 
at 49 Ill Reg 8323, that replace the term "licensing" with "registration" and 
increase the registration fee from $100 to $175 for initial registration (does 
not include exam fee) and from $60 to $125 for each 2-year renewal. 
Restoration of a lapsed registration is $50 plus all lapsed renewal fees up to a 
maximum of $425 (previously, $230), and new fees for returned checks and for 
penalties for practicing with a nonrenewed registration are added. A new 
requirement for 24 hours of continuing education (CE) during each 2-year 
renewal period, 16 of which must address core subjects of health, safety and 
welfare, and which must include 1 hour of sexual harassment prevention 
training required of all DFPR licensees and registrants, has been added. 
Approved forms of CE are listed and CE may be earned via online or self-
administered courses that meet DFPR's requirements. Other provisions specify 
when CE requirements may be waived and authorize DFPR to require a foreign 
applicant for registration by endorsement to complete the required 
registration exam. Since 1st Notice, DFPR has changed the effective date for 
the new CE requirements from the 2025 renewal period to the 2027 renewal 
period (9/1/25 through 8/31/27). Landscape architects and their employers are 
affected. 
 
This rulemaking was changed between proposal and adoption. A summary of 
the changes can be found in item 11 of the Notice of Adopted Amendment. 
 
Questions/requests for copies of rulemaking to: 
 
Department of Financial and Professional Regulation 
Attention: Craig Cellini 
320 West Washington, 2nd Floor 
Springfield, Illinois 62786 

https://www.ilsos.gov/departments/index/register/volume48/register_volume48_52.pdf#page=7
https://www.ilsos.gov/departments/index/register/volume49/register_volume49_25.pdf#page=41
https://www.ilga.gov/commission/jcar/flinn/20250620_June%2020,%202025%20-%20Issue%2025.pdf#page=3
https://www.ilsos.gov/departments/index/register/volume49/register_volume49_25.pdf#page=41
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217-785-0810 
Fax: 217-557-4451 
Craig.Cellini@illinois.gov 
 
COUNSELING AND THERAPY (6/20/25) (3) 
  
Department of Financial and Professional Regulation 
Marriage and Family Therapy Licensing Act (68 Ill. Adm. Code 1283; proposed 48 
Ill. Reg. 18075; adopted 49 Ill. Reg. 8340; eff. 6/5/25); Professional Counselor and 
Clinical Professional Counselor Licensing Act (68 Ill. Adm. Code 1375; proposed 
48 Ill. Reg. 18081; adopted 49 Ill. Reg. 8346; eff. 6/5/25); and Clinical Psychologist 
Licensing Act (68 Ill. Adm. Code 1400; proposed 48 Ill. Reg. 18095; adopted 49 Ill. 
Reg. 8360; eff. 6/5/25) 
Text of Rulemakings linked from Illinois Register citations abovre 
 
Flinn Report summary 
 
DFPR adopted amendments to the Parts titled Marriage and Family Therapy 
Licensing Act (68 IAC 1283; proposed at 48 Ill Reg 18075), Professional 
Counselor and Clinical Professional Counselor Licensing Act (68 IAC 1375; 
proposed at 48 Ill Reg 18081) and Clinical Psychologist Licensing Act (68 IAC 
1400; proposed at 48 Ill Reg 18095), all effective 6/5/25 at 49 Ill Reg 8340, 
8346 and 8360, to correct errors or omissions in previous rulemakings. An 
amendment to Part 1283 aligns the qualifications for those professionals 
(psychiatrists, licensed marriage and family therapists, licensed clinical 
psychologists, licensed clinical social workers, licensed clinical professional 
counselors) who may provide the first 100 hours and second 100 hours of the 
required 200 hours of clinical supervision for a marriage and family therapy 
licensing candidate. The Part 1375 and 1400 rulemakings clarify that a licensed 
clinical professional counselor or licensed clinical psychologist seeking 
restoration of a license that has been lapsed 5 years or less, and who has no 
record of disciplinary action in Illinois or any other state, is granted a one-time 
exemption from the renewal fee and other documentation requirements. 

mailto:Craig.Cellini@illinois.gov
https://idfpr.illinois.gov/
https://ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/068/06801283sections.html
https://www.ilsos.gov/departments/index/register/volume48/register_volume48_52.pdf#page=23
https://www.ilsos.gov/departments/index/register/volume48/register_volume48_52.pdf#page=23
https://www.ilsos.gov/departments/index/register/volume49/register_volume49_25.pdf#page=58
https://ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/068/06801375sections.html
https://www.ilsos.gov/departments/index/register/volume48/register_volume48_52.pdf#page=29
https://www.ilsos.gov/departments/index/register/volume49/register_volume49_25.pdf#page=64
https://ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/068/06801400sections.html
https://www.ilsos.gov/departments/index/register/volume48/register_volume48_52.pdf#page=43
https://www.ilsos.gov/departments/index/register/volume49/register_volume49_25.pdf#page=78
https://www.ilsos.gov/departments/index/register/volume49/register_volume49_25.pdf#page=78
https://www.ilga.gov/commission/jcar/flinn/20250620_June%2020,%202025%20-%20Issue%2025.pdf#page=3
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Psychologists, counselors, and marriage and family therapists are affected by 
these rulemakings. 
 
Only minor grammatical and stylistic changes were made between proposal and 
adoption. 
 
Questions/requests for copies of rulemaking to: 
 
Department of Financial and Professional Regulation 
Attention: Craig Cellini 
320 West Washington, 2nd Floor 
Springfield, Illinois 62786 
 
217-785-0810 
Fax: 217-557-4451 
Craig.Cellini@illinois.gov 
 
BEHAVIOR ANALYSTS (6/20/25) 
 
Department of Financial and Professional Regulation 
Behavior Analyst Licensing Act (68 Ill. Adm. Code 1376) 
Text of Rulemaking: proposed 48 Ill. Reg. 18088; adopted 49 Ill. Reg. 8353 
Effective 6/5/25 
 
Flinn Report summary 
 
DFPR adopted amendments to Behavior Analyst Licensing Act (68 IAC 1376; 
proposed at 48 Ill Reg 18088) effective 6/5/25 at 49 Ill Reg 8353, that add a 
fingerprint background check conducted by an Illinois State Police livescan 
vendor or another DFPR-approved vendor to the licensing requirements for 
behavior analysts and assistant behavior analysts. The rulemaking also reflects 
statutory provisions that exempt individuals who have been licensed in 
another jurisdiction for 10 consecutive years or more without discipline from 
having to submit proof of education, professional experience, and supervision 

mailto:Craig.Cellini@illinois.gov
https://idfpr.illinois.gov/
https://ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/068/06801376sections.html
https://www.ilsos.gov/departments/index/register/volume48/register_volume48_52.pdf#page=36
https://www.ilsos.gov/departments/index/register/volume49/register_volume49_25.pdf#page=71
https://www.ilga.gov/commission/jcar/flinn/20250613_June%2013,%202025%20-%20Issue%2024.pdf#page=4
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to be licensed by endorsement in Illinois. Behavior analysts, assistant behavior 
analysts, and their employers (e.g., autism services providers) are affected. 
 
This rulemaking was changed between proposal and adoption. A summary of 
the changes can be found in item 11 of the Notice of Adopted Amendment. 
 
Questions/requests for copies of rulemaking to: 
 
Department of Financial and Professional Regulation 
Attention: Craig Cellini 
320 West Washington, 2nd Floor 
Springfield, Illinois 62786 
 
217-785-0810 
Fax: 217-557-4451 
Craig.Cellini@illinois.gov 
 
HEALTH FACILITIES (6/20/25) 
 
Health Facilities and Services Review Board 
Health Facilities and Services Review Operational Rules (77 Ill. Adm. Code 1130) 
Text of Rulemaking: proposed 49 Ill. Reg. 1032; adopted 49 Ill. Reg. 8366 
Effective 7/1/25 
 
Flinn Report summary 
 
The HEALTH FACILITIES AND SERVICES REVIEW BOARD adopted amendments 
to the Part titled Health Facilities and Services Review Operational Rules (77 
IAC 1130; proposed at 49 Ill Reg 1032) effective 7/1/25 at 49 Ill Reg 8366, that 
apply to new applications filed on or after that date. The proposed rulemaking 
increases initial application fees for a Certificate of Need (CON) from $2,500 to 
$5,000 for projects costing less than $2.25 million (the former threshold was 
$1.25 million). The CON initial application fee for projects of $2.25 million or 
more remains 0.22% of the project cost but is capped at $150,000 (previously 
$100,000). For a Certificate of Exemption (COE) the application fee is increased 

https://www.ilsos.gov/departments/index/register/volume49/register_volume49_25.pdf#page=71
mailto:Craig.Cellini@illinois.gov
https://hfsrb.illinois.gov/
https://ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/077/07701130sections.html
https://www.ilsos.gov/departments/index/register/volume49/register_volume49_4.pdf#page=81
https://www.ilsos.gov/departments/index/register/volume49/register_volume49_25.pdf#page=84
https://www.ilga.gov/commission/jcar/flinn/20250613_June%2013,%202025%20-%20Issue%2024.pdf#page=4
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from $2,500 to $5,000, except for certain exemptions for a change of 
ownership, for which the fee will be the greater of $5,000 or 0.22% of the fair 
market value of the sale transaction, up to a maximum of $150,000. Fees for 
various post-permit transactions (e.g., extension of financial commitment, 
permit renewals, and permit alterations) are also increased. The rulemaking 
also revises and adds various definitions to align with statute. Other provisions 
update the procedure for filing applications electronically; clarify how 
extensions of financial commitment, permit renewals, and permit alterations 
are processed and reviewed by HFSRB; clarify and explain how cumulative 
fines can be assessed; and establish how HFSRB will conduct a public hearing 
in situations where the initial requestor has rescinded the request for a public 
hearing. Finally, Appendix A is revised to cross-reference HFSRB's capital 
expenditure thresholds to HFSRB's website instead of publishing these 
thresholds in the Appendix. Since 1st Notice, HFSRB has further clarified 
various aspects of the application process. Health facilities seeking permits to 
build or renovate are affected. 
 
This rulemaking was changed between proposal and adoption. A summary of 
the changes can be found in item 11 of the Notice of Adopted Amendment. 
 
Questions/requests for copies of rulemaking to: 
 
Health Facilities and Services Review Board 
Attention: Donald Jones, Rules Coordinator 
525 West Jefferson Street, 2nd Floor 
Springfield, Illinois 62761 
 
217-782-3516 
dph.hfsrb.rules@illinois.gov  
 
DEVELOPMENT LOANS (6/13/25) 
 
Office of the State Treasurer 
Community Development Loan Guarantee Program (74 Ill. Adm. Code 715) 
(New Part) 

https://www.ilsos.gov/departments/index/register/volume49/register_volume49_25.pdf#page=85
mailto:dph.hfsrb.rules@illinois.gov
https://illinoistreasurer.gov/
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Text of Rulemaking: Proposed 49 Ill. Reg. 1257; Adopted 49 Ill. Reg. 8246 
Effective 5/29/25 
 
Flinn Report summary 
 
The OFFICE OF THE STATE TREASURER adopted a new Part titled Community 
Development Loan Guarantee Program (74 IAC 715; proposed at 49 Ill Reg 
1257) effective 5/29/25 at 49 Ill Reg 8246, implementing provisions of the 
Community Development Loan Guarantee Act [15 ILCS 516] to guarantee 
loans for small businesses that would not otherwise qualify for business loans 
and are located in low-income communities that have been historically 
excluded from investment opportunities. Up to $10 million in State Treasury 
investment earnings may be allocated to the program annually, but no more 
than $50 million may be used at any given time to guarantee loans. For the 
purposes of this Part, a small business is a business (other than those involved 
in investment real estate, tobacco, adult entertainment, or gambling) 
operating in Illinois with fewer than 500 employees at the time of application; 
qualifying small businesses must be located in a low-income community as 
determined by poverty rates or median income. The Treasurer will establish 
loan guarantee accounts at designated program depositories, which must be 
State- or federally chartered banks authorized to conduct business in Illinois. 
Participating financial institutions that approve and manage loans to eligible 
businesses must submit a $1,000 application fee to the Treasurer, must have a 
rating of "outstanding" or "satisfactory" under the Illinois Community 
Reinvestment Act (CRA), or be credit unions that do not yet have a CRA rating, 
and meet other criteria for financial soundness. Once approved, each 
participating financial institution will be allocated up to $1 million in loan 
guarantees, based on the availability of funds, and must allocate all their loan 
guarantees within 1 year. Loans to qualifying businesses may be guaranteed 
for up to 25% of the loan amount for a maximum of 5 years, and may not be 
used to refinance existing debt. Participating financial institutions must submit 
annual reports to the Treasurer concerning their guaranteed loans. Other 
provisions establish information to be provided by business loan applicants, 
participating financial institutions, and program depositories. Those affected 

https://www.ilsos.gov/departments/index/register/volume49/register_volume49_5.pdf#page=36
https://www.ilsos.gov/departments/index/register/volume49/register_volume49_24.pdf#page=208
https://www.ilga.gov/commission/jcar/flinn/20250613_June%2013,%202025%20-%20Issue%2024.pdf#page=3
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by this rulemaking include small businesses, community banks and credit 
unions in low-income communities. 
 
Questions/requests for copies of rulemakings to: 
 
Sara Meek 
Chief Legislative and Policy Officer 
Illinois State Treasurer 
219 State House 
Springfield, IL 62706 
 
217-836-0030 
fax: 217-782-2777 
SMeek@illinoistreasurer.gov  
 
BIRTH CENTERS (6/6/25) 
 
Department of Public Health 
Birth Center Licensing Code (77 Ill. Adm. Code 264) 
Text of Rulemaking: Proposed 49 Ill. Reg. 2918; Adopted 49 Ill. Reg. 7994 
 
Flinn Report summary 
 
DPH adopted an amendment to Birth Center Licensing Code (77 IAC 264; 
proposed at 49 Ill Reg 2918) effective 5/21/25 at 49 Ill Reg 7994, 
implementing Public Acts 103-160 and 103-605. The PAs and this rulemaking 
require birth centers with obstetrical service beds to inform parents of 
newborns of the option to donate breast milk to nonprofit human milk banks 
accredited by the Human Milk Banking Association of North America. This 
information may be provided in writing or electronically, and birth centers may 
distribute information provided directly from the Association. 
 
  

mailto:SMeek@illinoistreasurer.gov
https://dph.illinois.gov/
https://ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/077/07700264sections.html
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Questions/requests for copies of rulemakings to: 
 
Illinois Department of Public Health 
Attention: Tracey Trigillo, IDPH Rules Coordinator 
Director's Office, Division of Governmental Affairs 
Lincoln Plaza, 524 South 2nd Street, 6th Floor 
Springfield, IL 62701 
 
217-782-1159 
dph.rules@illinois.gov  
 
HEALTH CARE WORKER BACKGROUND CHECKS (6/6/25) 
 
Department of Public Health 
Health Care Worker Background Check Code (77 Ill. Adm. Code 955) 
Text of Rulemaking: Proposed: 49 Ill Reg. 3028; Adopted: 49 Ill. Reg. 7999 
 
Flinn Report summary 
 
DPH adopted amendments to Health Care Worker Background Check Code 
(77 IAC 955; proposed at 49 Ill Reg 3028) effective 5/22/25 at 49 Ill Reg 7999, 
implementing PAs 102-538, 103-428 and 103-1032. The rulemaking updates 
the statutory definition of "direct care" to state that the entity responsible for 
inspecting, licensing, certifying or registering a health care employer may 
prescribe guidelines in administrative rule for the employers it regulates 
regarding how to define a direct care employee. Comprehensive Community 
Mental Health Centers (CCMHCs) certified by the Department of Human 
Services are added to the list of health care employers subject to the Health 
Care Worker Background Check Act and this Part. Employment verifications 
must be submitted for contracted and subcontracted workers (in addition to 
employees) at least annually. The rulemaking also requires employers to retain 
a screen print in an employee's file showing whether the employee has 
received a waiver from any disqualifying criminal convictions or administrative 
findings. Health care employers subject to the Background Check Act are 
affected. 

mailto:dph.rules@illinois.gov
https://dph.illinois.gov/
https://ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/077/07700955sections.html
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Questions/requests for copies of rulemakings to: 
 
Illinois Department of Public Health 
Attention: Tracey Trigillo, IDPH Rules Coordinator 
Director's Office, Division of Governmental Affairs 
Lincoln Plaza, 524 South 2nd Street, 6th Floor 
Springfield, IL 62701 
 
217-782-1159 
dph.rules@illinois.gov  
 
CLEAN JOBS PROGRAMS (5/30/25) (4) 
 
Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity 
Energy Transition Navigators Program (14 Ill. Adm. Code 820 (New Part); 
proposed 48 Ill. Reg. 10512; adopted 49 Ill. Reg. 7554); Returning Residents 
Clean Jobs Training Program (14 Ill. Adm. Code 830 (New Part); proposed 48 Ill. 
Reg. 10534; adopted 49 Ill. Reg. 7577); Clean Jobs Workforce Network Program 
(14 Ill. Adm. Code 840 (New Part); proposed 48 Ill. Reg. 10564; adopted 49 Ill. 
Reg. 7609); Illinois Climate Works Pre-Apprenticeship Program (14 Ill. Adm. 
Code 850 (New Part); proposed 48 Ill. Reg. 10592; adopted 49 Ill. Reg. 7641) 
Texts of the 4 Rulemakings are linked from Illinois Register citations above 
 
Flinn Report summary 
 
The DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE AND ECONOMIC OPPORTUNITY adopted 
four new Parts titled Energy Transition Navigators Program (14 IAC 820; 
proposed at 48 Ill Reg 10512, adopted at 49 Ill Reg 7554), Returning Residents 
Clean Jobs Training Program (14 IAC 830; proposed at 48 Ill Reg 10534, 
adopted at 49 Ill Reg 7577), Clean Jobs Workforce Network Program (14 IAC 
840; proposed at 48 Ill Reg 10564, adopted at 49 Ill Reg 7609) and Illinois 
Climate Works Pre-Apprenticeship Program (14 IAC 850; proposed at 48 Ill 
Reg 10592, adopted at 49 Ill Reg 7641), all effective 5/19/25, implementing 
Public Act 102-662, the Climate and Equitable Jobs Act (CEJA). Each Part 

mailto:dph.rules@illinois.gov
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establishes a competitive grant program targeting equity investment eligible 
individuals and communities, including but not limited to: residents of 
economically disadvantaged or environmental justice communities; displaced 
energy workers and their dependents; currently or formerly incarcerated 
persons; and individuals who have aged out of the foster care system. 
Applicant organizations must meet the requirements of the Grant 
Accountability and Transparency Act (GATA). A uniform training curriculum 
(with modifications for Part 830) will also be used across each program. Those 
affected by these rulemakings include community-based non-profit 
organizations, apprenticeship and job training programs, construction 
contractors, and employers in the clean energy sector.  
 
Energy Transition Navigators: Part 820 establishes the Energy Transition 
Navigators program that will award 14 grants to community-based providers 
in Chicago (South Side and Southwest/West Sides), Waukegan, Rockford, 
Aurora, Joliet, Peoria, Champaign, Danville, Decatur, Carbondale, East St. Louis, 
Kankakee, and Alton. The purpose of the Navigator grants is to provide 
education, outreach and recruitment services to eligible populations to ensure 
they are aware of and engaged in DCEO's statewide and local workforce 
training and contractor development programs (including, but not limited to, 
the programs established in Parts 830, 840 and 850), other existing clean jobs 
programs, and services offered under the Energy Transition Barrier Reduction 
Program. Energy Transition Navigators (originally referred to as "grantees") 
will prioritize individuals eligible for the Clean Jobs Workforce Network 
Program or the Illinois Climate Works Pre-Apprenticeship Program. Since 1st 
Notice, DCEO has added or clarified numerous definitions, including 
"accessibility", "core values", "diversity", "equity", "inclusion", and "eligible 
populations".  
 
Returning Residents: Part 830 establishes the Returning Residents Program, 
which will prepare residents of Department of Corrections facilities who are 
within 36 months of release to work in clean energy and related sector jobs 
upon release. Grants will be awarded to community-based organizations and 
their partners to deliver clean energy jobs training in DOC facilities. Training 
will include classroom instruction and hands-on learning opportunities, 
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connect program graduates with potential employers in the clean energy 
industry, and address participants' needs for supportive services. The program 
will also continue to provide support to participants after release as they 
prepare for and transition into employment or to another training program. 
DOC will exercise sole discretion regarding residents who are permitted to 
enroll in the program. The warden or superintendent of a participating DOC 
facility may deny entry to a program instructor or staff member due to safety 
or security concerns, or if the instructor/staff member does not follow required 
security protocols. Changes since 1st Notice include revised and additional 
definitions, including "essential employability skills", and clarifications 
regarding approval or disapproval of residents who seek enrollment in the 
program.  
 
Clean Jobs Programs: Part 840 establishes the Clean Jobs Workforce 
Program, which will award grants to community-based organizations and their 
subcontractors in at least 14 "hub" sites in the same communities listed under 
Part 820 (Energy Transition Navigators Program). Each hub will receive funding 
from the Energy Transition Barrier Reduction Program to provide educational, 
training and support services as needed for eligible individuals. Eligible 
individuals include persons experiencing barriers to employment such as low 
educational attainment, involvement with the criminal justice system, or 
language barriers. The goal of this program is to prepare eligible individuals 
for entry-level jobs in the clean energy sector. Part 850 establishes a network 
of 3 Climate Works Hubs (one each in Illinois Department of Transportation 
Region 1, Regions 2 and 3, and Regions 4 and 5) to recruit, prescreen, and 
provide pre-apprenticeship skills training, which participants may attend free 
of charge and receive a stipend, to create a qualified, diverse pipeline of 
workers who are prepared for careers in the construction and building trades 
and clean energy jobs opportunities therein. Subject to (cont. page 5) 5 
Adopted Rules (cont. from page 4) appropriation, these hubs will also receive 
Energy Transition Barrier Reduction Program funding to provide wrap-around 
supportive services as needed for eligible individuals. Since 1st Notice, DCEO 
has added and clarified various definitions and procedures in both Parts. 
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This rulemaking was changed between proposal and adoption. A summary of 
the changes can be found in item 11 of each Notice of Adopted Amendment: 
Parts 820, 830, 840, 850. 
 
Questions/requests for copies of rulemakings to: 
 
Gina Arterberry 
Rules Administrator 
Illinois Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity 
1011 S. 2nd St. 
Springfield, Illinois 62704 
 
217-524-8974 
Gina.M.Arterberry@illinois.gov  
 
VEHICLE RENTAL TAX (5/30/25) (2) 
 
Department of Revenue 
Automobile Renting Occupation Tax (86 Ill. Adm. Code 180; proposed 48 Ill. Reg. 
14909; adopted 49 Ill. Reg. 7670) and Automobile Renting Use Tax (86 Ill. Adm. 
Code 190; proposed 48 Ill. Reg. 14922; adopted 49 Ill. Reg. 7684) 
Texts of the 2 Rulemakings are linked from Illinois Register citations above 
 
Flinn Report summary 
 
The DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE adopted amendments to the Parts titled 
Automobile Renting Occupation Tax (86 IAC 180; proposed at 48 Ill Reg 
14909) and Automobile Renting Use Tax (86 IAC 190; proposed at 48 Ill Reg 
14922), both effective 5/19/25 at 49 Ill Reg 7670 and 7684. Both rulemakings 
reflect statutory language clarifying that gross receipts from rent are subject 
to the tax whether paid by the rentor or by another party and specifying that 
peer-to-peer carsharing or shared-vehicle ownership programs are not subject 
to these taxes if sales tax or use tax was paid on the vehicles at the time they 
were purchased or brought to Illinois. The Part 180 rulemaking additionally 
states that that low-speed electric and gas-powered bicycles are not "motor 
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vehicles" subject to the rental tax. The Part 190 rulemaking clarifies that the 
automobile renting use tax must be charged to the rentee as an item separate 
from the rental price and that tax-exempt rentees may claim exemption by 
providing their tax exemption number at the time of the transaction. 
Businesses and nonprofit, tax-exempt organizations that rent vehicles are 
affected. 
 
Both rulemakings were changed between proposal and adoption. A summary of 
the changes can be found in item 11 of each Notice of Adopted Amendment. 
 
Questions/requests for copies of rulemakings to: 
 
Tom Grudichak 
Associate Counsel 
Legal Services Office 
Illinois Department of Revenue 
101 West Jefferson 
Springfield, Illinois 62794 
 
217-524-4821 
REV.GCO@illinois.gov 
 
CONSTRUCTION BID CREDITS (5/23/25) 
 
Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity 
Illinois Works Jobs Program Act (14 Ill. Adm. Code 680) 
Rulemaking Text: Proposed 48 Ill. Reg. 10489; Adopted 49 Ill. Reg. 7298 
 
Flinn Report summary 
 
The DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE AND ECONOMIC OPPORTUNITY adopted 
amendments to the Part titled Illinois Works Jobs Program Act (14 IAC 680; 
proposed at 48 Ill Reg 10489) effective 5/7/25 at 49 Ill Reg 7298, that add 
provisions for a new Illinois Works Bid Credit Program and also update other 
aspects of the Illinois Works Jobs Program. The rulemaking, which has 
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undergone extensive changes since 1st Notice, provides that eligible 
contractors and subcontractors may earn bid credits, applicable to future bids 
on State projects, for employing qualified apprentices. For projects costing 
$500,000 or more, the program's goal is to have at least 10% of estimated or 
actual labor hours (whichever is less) in each prevailing wage classification 
performed by apprentices. Credits are determined by the mean statewide 
wage for the applicable construction trade and the number of hours worked 
by qualified apprentices (for each hour worked by a qualified apprentice, the 
credit is 50 cents per $1 of the mean statewide prevailing wage for the 
apprentice's trade). To participate in the bid credit program, contractors and 
subcontractors must submit monthly reports of work performed by each 
qualified apprentice and send payroll documentation to DCEO (if the work was 
performed on a non-public works project) or the Illinois Department of Labor 
(if the work was for a public works project). DCEO will record and track all 
credits in the Illinois Works Credit Bank and issue bid credit certificates to 
contractors that earn credits. A list of active Bid Credit Program participants 
and available bid credits will be published on the DCEO website. Bid credits 
will expire 10 years after they are earned. When a public works project is 
opened for bid, the awarding authority will advise contractors that they may 
use bid credits (until 7/1/27, only bid credits earned in the same region 
(Northern or Southern) may be used), and note the maximum amount of bid 
credits that can be applied to the project: for projects under $5 million, 3% of 
total project cost; for projects of $5 million up to $50 million, 4% of project 
cost; for projects of $50 million or more, 5% of project cost. A contractor may 
use bid credits to outbid, by no more than $1, the lowest qualified and 
responsible bidder that does not use bid credits. If two or more bidders that 
use bid credits end up bidding the same amount, pre-existing selection criteria 
will be used to select the winning bidder, with no advantage to the bidders 
using credits. Bid credits not applied to the project will be returned to the 
contractor. Bid credits may be combined for specific projects or transferred to 
another entity as the result of a merger or acquisition, but may not be bought, 
sold or gifted to another contractor. Additionally, this rulemaking updates 
apprenticeship goals for various programs and allows these goals to be 
waived if the contractor or subcontractor demonstrates that not enough 
graduates of the Illinois Works PreApprenticeship Program are available to 
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meet the requirements of this Part. Penalties for intentional failure to comply 
with the program now include termination of the project contract or 
agreement involved, the contractor being barred from bidding on State 
projects for 3 years, a monetary penalty of up to 25% of the contract cost, or 
any combination of these penalties. Changes since 1st Notice include 
requiring bid credits to have been earned in the same region as the project 
being bidded on through 6/30/27; removing bid credit stipulations based on 
how long apprentices must remain employed; adjusting the due dates for bid 
credit apprentice reports; and requiring DCEO to publish summary data from 
completed projects, including estimated and final costs and labor hours 
worked by apprentices, on its website quarterly. Those affected by this 
rulemaking include construction trades apprenticeship programs and 
construction businesses that bid on public works projects. 
 
This rulemaking was changed between proposal and adoption. A summary of 
the changes can be found in item 11 of the Notice of Adopted Amendment . 
 
Questions/requests for copies of rulemaking to: 
 
Gina Arterberry 
Rules Administrator 
Illinois Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity 
1011 S. 2nd St. 
Springfield, Illinois 62704 
 
217-524-8974 
Gina.M.Arterberry@illinois.gov  
 
FARMS AND FOOD BANKS (5/23/25) 
 
Department of Human Services 
Administration of Social Service Programs (89 Ill. Adm. Code 130) 
Text of Rulemaking: Proposed 48 Ill. Reg. 13061; Adopted 49 Ill. Reg. 7328 
 
  

https://www.ilsos.gov/departments/index/register/volume49/register_volume49_21.pdf#page=197
mailto:Gina.M.Arterberry@illinois.gov
https://www.dhs.state.il.us/
https://ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/089/08900130sections.html
https://www.ilsos.gov/departments/index/register/volume48/register_volume48_36.pdf#page=95
https://www.ilsos.gov/departments/index/register/volume49/register_volume49_21.pdf#page=227


48 
 
 

Flinn Report summary 
 
The DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES adopted an amendment to the Part 
titled Administration of Social Service Programs (89 IAC 130; proposed at 48 Ill 
Reg 13061) effective 5/9/25 at 49 Ill Reg 7328, implementing the Illinois Farm 
to Food Bank Program Act. The program is intended to expand availability 
within the Department's existing Emergency Food Assistance Program (EFAP) 
of nutritious foods locally grown, raised or processed by Illinois farmers. An 
administering entity for the Farm to Food Bank Program will be chosen by 
DHS from among the non-profit entities currently participating in EFAP. Foods 
acquired through the program must be surplus, seconds, or market-grade 
quality and safe for consumption. No fees may be charged to individual or 
household recipients or to distribution sites or programs. Funding to 
participating food banks will be based on the current weighted county 
allocations used by EFAP. A participating food bank must supply cash or in-
kind contributions from non-State sources that match 100% of the Farm to 
Food Bank resources supplied (changed since 1st Notice from a 50% match of 
the cost of program activities). Funding not accepted or used before the end 
of the State fiscal year may be reallocated to other food banks. At least 75% of 
funds received must be used for picking, packing, processing, transportation, 
and other costs directly related to acquisition and distribution of food. 
Separate matching grants will be available to qualifying agricultural entities, 
food banks, food pantries, soup kitchens, and other agencies that provide 
food or meals to the needy to fund facility upgrades, equipment, or other 
capacity-building measures. The administering entity must also establish 
goals, preferences and incentives to promote equity in the farm industry and 
prioritize acquisition of food from socially disadvantaged farmers and ranchers 
as defined by USDA. Since 1st Notice, DHS has aligned this rulemaking more 
closely with federal and State regulations and definitions and has specified the 
State and federal food regulations that participants must comply with. Those 
affected by this rulemaking include farms, ranches, food banks, food pantries, 
soup kitchens and other entities that participate in the Emergency Food 
Assistance Program.  
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This rulemaking was changed between proposal and adoption. A summary of 
the changes can be found in item 11 of the Notice of Adopted Amendment . 
 
Questions/requests for copies of rulemaking to: 
 
Tracie Drew, Chief 
Bureau of Administrative Rules and Procedures 
Department of Human Services 
100 South Grand Avenue East 
Harris Building, 3rd Floor 
Springfield, Illinois 62762 
 
217-785-9772 
DHS.AdministrativeRules@illinois.gov  
 
CONSTRUCTION GRANTS: EARLY CHILDHOOD FACILITIES (5/16/25) 
 
Capital Development Board 
Early Childhood Construction Grant Rules (71 Ill. Adm. Code 43) 
Rulemaking Text: Proposed 48 Ill. Reg. 12670; Adopted 49 Ill. Reg. 6880 
 
Flinn Report summary 
 
The CAPITAL DEVELOPMENT BOARD adopted amendments to Early 
Childhood Construction Grant Rules (71 IAC 43; proposed at 48 Ill Reg 12672) 
effective 5/5/25 at 49 Ill Reg 6880, that clarify application requirements and 
scoring criteria; include units of local government, such as community college 
districts, in the definition of non-profit entities; clarifying that eligible non-
profit early childhood providers must be licensed day care centers; and adding 
a statutory requirement that early childhood centers that qualify for grants 
cannot be located in private residences. Other provisions change the 
presumed useful life for equipment from 20 years to 12 years to be consistent 
with other CDB grant programs; and state that liens may be placed on the 
property as outlined in the statute. Since 1st Notice, CDB changed a provision 
that originally allowed joint applications and leasehold improvements when 
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one non-profit organization owns a facility and another operates the early 
childhood center. Now, the non-profit that operates the facility may apply for 
the grant as an eligible entity while the non-profit that owns the facility may 
be required to act as a guarantor for awards of $200,000 or more (in the event 
that the grant recipient fails to meet the requirements of the grant agreement 
and is obligated to repay all or part of the grant). Units of local government 
and non-profit entities may be affected.  
 
This rulemaking was changed between proposal and adoption. A summary of 
the changes can be found in item 11 of the Notice of Adopted Amendment . 
 
Questions/requests for copies of rulemaking to: 
 
Lauren Noll 
Deputy General Counsel 
Capital Development Board 
401 South Spring Street 
3rd Floor Stratton Building 
Springfield, Illinois 62706 
 
217-524-5065 
Lauren.Noll@illinois.gov  
 
SPECIAL EDUCATION (5/16/25) 
 
State Board of Education 
Special Education (23 Ill. Adm. Code 226; proposed at 48 Ill. Reg. 6946; adopted 
at 49 Ill. Reg. 6901) and Special Education Facilities Under Section 14-7.02 of 
the School Code (23 Ill. Adm. Code 401; proposed at 48 Ill. Reg. 6974; adopted at 
49 Ill. Reg. 6929) 
 
Flinn Report summary: 
 
The STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION adopted amendments to Special Education 
(23 IAC 226; proposed at 48 Ill Reg 6946) and Special Education Facilities 
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Under Section 14-7.02 of the School Code (23 IAC 401; proposed at 48 Ill Reg 
6974) both effective 5/5/25 at 49 Ill Reg 6901 and 6929, implementing recent 
Public Acts and SBE policy changes. Both rulemakings require nonpublic 
special education facilities in which students have been placed at their home 
district’s expense (because the home district cannot accommodate their 
needs) not to terminate any student’s enrollment without first requesting an 
Individualized Education Plan (IEP) meeting from the contracting school 
district, to provide notice of a termination at least 20 business days in 
advance, and to include in their notice the reasons for the termination. 
Amendments to Part 226 additionally require Individualized Education Plans 
(IEPs) to include any extra accommodation the student may need in an 
emergency, including a natural disaster or active shooter situation, and to 
determine the student’s Priority of Urgency of Need for Services (PUNS) List 
status at each annual review. (The PUNS List is the Department of Human 
Services’ database of persons who are in current or future need of Home and 
Community-Based Waiver services for persons with developmental 
disabilities.) If am IEP student is not registered with PUNS or the student’s 
registration status is not known, the parents/guardian and student will receive 
contact information for an Intermediate Service Center that can register the 
student with PUNS. An IEP for a student age 14½ or older shall note any dual 
credit courses in which the student has enrolled for either dual college-high 
school credit or for high school credit only. Other provisions allow 
parent/guardian requests for an independent educational evaluation at district 
expense to be submitted to either the applicable district special education 
administrator or the district superintendent; allow a finalized IEP to be 
delivered to parents on an agreed-upon date (previously, immediately); clarify 
the extent of “stay put” agreements allowing a child to remain in the current 
placement while mediation efforts are in progress; remove references to the 
Learning Disability Specialist I endorsement and the work assignments that 
required this obsolete endorsement; and require an IEP meeting to be held 
when a student will require ongoing home or hospital instruction and allow 
such instruction to be delivered in person or online. The Part 401 rulemaking 
additionally clarifies a distinction between residential-only programs (in which 
all students live on campus) and combination programs (which enroll both day 
students and resident students). The rulemaking specifies what must be 
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included in a residential-only program’s application for ISBE approval and also 
provides that applications from any program will be approved on a rolling 
basis with no specific timeline. If any program’s ISBE approval status is 
downgraded to “pending further review” of alleged deficiencies or violations, 
the program must notify all contracting school districts of this change, and 
school districts may not make any new placements into the program. 
Programs being downgraded to “nonapproved” status will receive 20 (formerly 
10) business days’ notice from the State Superintendent. A program provider 
in Illinois or another state that loses its license or approval to operate and can 
no longer accept admissions must notify ISBE of the admissions hold within 5 
business days. Other provisions clarify staffing and life-safety inspection 
requirements. Changes since 1st Notice to the Part 401 rulemaking specify 
that when virtual instruction is provided to a classroom, there must be 
sufficient staff physically present in the classroom to maintain a 5:1 student-
to-staff ratio. Also, a requirement that each facility's staff include a full-time 
chief administrator meeting certain qualifications will not take effect until the 
2026-27 school year and has been modified to accommodate instances in 
which the chief administrator oversees more than one program location. 
 
Both rulemakings were changed between proposal and adoption. A summary of 
the changes can be found in item 11 of their respective Notices of Adopted 
Amendment (49 Ill. Reg. 6901 and 49 Ill. Reg. 6929). 
 
Questions/requests for copies of rulemaking to: 
 
Azita Kakvand 
Illinois State Board of Education 
555 W. Monroe Street, Suite 900 
Chicago, IL 60661 
 
312-783-2757 
rules@isbe.net  
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CARE FACILITIES FOR THE DEVELOPMENTALLY DISABLED 
(INTERMEDIATE CARE/MEDICALLY COMPLEX) (5/16/25) 
 
Department of Public Health 
Intermediate Care for the Developmentally Disabled Facilities Code (77 Ill. Adm. 
Code 350; proposed at 49 Ill. Reg. 51; adopted at 49 Ill. Reg. 7038) and Medically 
Complex for the Developmentally Disabled Facilities Code (77 Ill. Adm. Code 
390; proposed at 49 Ill. Reg. 85; adopted at 49 Ill. Reg. 7071) 
 
Flinn Report Summary: 
 
The DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH adopted amendments to Intermediate 
Care for the Developmentally Disabled Facilities Code (77 IAC 350; proposed 
at 49 Ill Reg 51) and Medically Complex for the Developmentally Disabled 
Facilities Code (77 IAC 390; proposed at 49 Ill Reg 85), both effective 4/30/25 
at 49 Ill Reg 7038 and 7071, implementing Public Acts 103-1 and 102-1095. 
These rulemakings allow DPH to conduct inspections of ICF/DD and MC/DD 
facilities that normally must be conducted within 30 days of a complaint that 
does not involve resident abuse or neglect within "an appropriate timeframe 
to the extent feasible" during statewide public health emergencies. The 
amendments also implement the Latex Glove Ban Act, which prohibits use of 
latex gloves in food service and patient care if nonlatex gloves are available. If 
non-latex gloves are in short supply, their use must be prioritized for residents 
with known or self-stated latex allergies or who cannot communicate their 
allergy status. Other provisions update statutory language allowing DPH 
inspectors to conduct an informal exit conference with staff of an ICF/DD 
facility when a serious deficiency or violation is found, so that the facility can 
correct the deficiency as soon as possible. Finally, the Part 350 rulemaking 
extends a statutory exemption from the 120-day initial training requirement 
for nursing assistants and habilitation aides (when there is a statewide public 
health emergency or when the prospective aide/assistant is enrolled in an 
approved course that is taught on a semester or term basis) to developmental 
disabilities aides and direct support persons. 
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Both rulemakings were changed between proposal and adoption. A summary of 
the changes can be found in item 11 of their respective Notices of Adopted 
Amendment (49 Ill. Reg. 7038 and 49 Ill. Reg. 7071). 
 
Questions/requests for copies of rulemaking to: 
 
Illinois Department of Public Health 
Attention: Tracey Trigillo, IDPH Rules Coordinator 
Director’s Office, Division of Governmental Affairs 
Lincoln Plaza, 524 South 2nd Street, 6th Floor 
Springfield, IL 62701 
 
217-782-1159 
dph.rules@illinois.gov  
 
NURSES (5/9/25) 
 
Department of Financial and Professional Regulation 
Nurse Practice Act (68 Ill. Adm. Code 1300) 
Rulemaking Text: Proposed (48 Ill. Reg. 13019); Adopted (49 Ill. Reg. 6052) 
 
Flinn Report summary: 
 
The DEPARTMENT OF FINANCIAL AND PROFESSIONAL REGULATION adopted 
amendments to the Part titled Nurse Practice Act (68 IAC 1300; proposed at 48 
Ill Reg 13019) effective 5/9/25 at 49 Ill Reg 6052, that add a new Section 
addressing requirements for certified nurse midwives to report adverse 
occurrences (death or hospitalization of a newborn or mother within 48 hours 
after delivery or attempted delivery), allow other English tests approved by the 
Division of Professional Regulation (previously, only the Test of English as a 
Foreign Language (TOEFL) or the International English Language Testing 
System (IELTS) were approved) to be used by licensure applicants whose 
primary language is not English, and set minimum passing scores for some of 
the alternative tests. Grounds for withdrawing approval of a nurse education 
program now include failure to maintain a pass rate for graduates of 75% or 
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higher on the National Council Licensing Examination for 2 consecutive years. 
Other provisions require all substance abuse assessments, in cases involving 
substance-abuse-related allegations, to be paid for by the licensee (formerly, 
by DFPR); set timelines for action when a licensee contests a suspension; and 
allow licensees to request a hearing to terminate a suspension. Changes since 
1st Notice clarify that DFPR may offer care, counseling and treatment 
agreements to a nurse impaired by substance use disorder and clarify the 
factors DFPR will consider when evaluating a nurse education program. 
Licensed nurses, their employers, and nurse education programs are affected. 
 
This rulemaking was changed between proposal and adoption. A summary of 
the changes can be found in item 11 of the Notice of Adopted Amendment. 
 
Questions/requests for copies of rulemaking to: 
 
Department of Financial and Professional Regulation 
Attention: Craig Cellini 
320 West Washington, 2nd Floor 
Springfield, Illinois 62786 
 
217-785-0810 
Fax: 217-557-4451 
Craig.Cellini@illinois.gov 
 
AMUSEMENTS (5/9/25) 
 
Department of Labor 
Amusement Ride and Attraction Safety Act (56 Ill. Adm. Code 6000) 
Text of Rulemaking: Proposed (48 Ill. Reg. 6438); Adopted (49 Ill. Reg. 6097) 
 
Flinn Report summary 
 
The DEPARTMENT OF LABOR adopted amendments to the Part titled 
Amusement Ride and Attraction Safety Act (56 IAC 6000; proposed at 48 Ill 
Reg 6438) effective 4/25/25 at 49 Ill Reg 6097, implementing Public Act 103-
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177. The rulemaking removes the distinction between paid and volunteer 
carnival workers and makes volunteers subject to the same drug testing and 
background checks as paid employees. The Director of DOL may waive the 
requirement to apply for a permit at least 30 days in advance of operating a 
ride or attraction (or in advance of expiration of the current permit) if the 
applicant provides satisfactory proof that the application could not have been 
filed sooner. The Director may also accept permit applications filed less than 
30 days in advance provided the application was submitted before the ride or 
attraction begins operation. Permits may be categorically denied to applicants 
who have previously made misrepresentations or material omissions on 
applications or documents submitted to DOL. Inspections by DOL and the 
associated fees may be waived if the operator provides proof that the 
ride/attraction has passed an inspection by another public or private agency 
(e.g., a municipality) whose standards are at least as stringent as DOL’s 
standards under the Act. Operating permit holders must have a first aid and 
CPR-certified employee on staff at all times of operation. In instances where a 
ride or attraction is not in compliance with this Part but does not pose an 
immediate danger to the public or to workers, DOL may issue a correction 
notice with a specified compliance deadline, after which a stop operation 
order may be issued if the deficiency is not corrected. A civil penalty of $1,000 
per violation may be imposed for any violation of the Act or this Part, and the 
maximum penalty for operating without a permit is raised to $10,000 per day 
for a third or subsequent violation. Other provisions add a definition of 
“special amusement structures” including haunted houses (which need not be 
Halloween-themed) and prohibit amusement workers at haunted houses from 
making physical contact with patrons unless necessary to remove a patron or 
prevent injury to the patron or others; clarify administrative hearing 
procedures; incorporate the 2005 edition of the National Fire Protection 
Association Life Safety Code 101; and update requirements for bungee 
jumping, zip lines, aerial adventures and trampoline courts. Since 1st Notice, 
DOL has clarified the definitions of "slide" to exclude water slides and "zip 
line" to exclude playground zip lines not normally requiring supervision or 
third-party operation. Businesses, municipalities and non-profit organizations 
that sponsor carnivals, fairs, haunted houses and similar attractions are 
affected.  
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This rulemaking was changed between proposal and adoption. A summary of 
the changes can be found in item 11 of the Notice of Adopted Amendment. 
 
Questions/requests for copies of rulemaking to: 
 
Anna Koeppel 
Legislative Director 
Illinois Department of Labor 
524 South 2nd Street, Suite 400 
Springfield, Illinois 62701 
 
217-558-1270 
Anna.Koeppel@illinois.gov  
 
NURSE AGENCIES (5/9/25)  
 
Department of Labor 
Nurse Agency Licensing Act (68 Ill. Adm. Code 690) 
Rulemaking Text: Proposed: 48 Ill. Reg. 6519; Adopted: 49 Ill. Reg. 6180 
 
Flinn Report summary 
 
DOL also adopted amendments to the Part titled Nurse Agency Licensing Act 
(68 IAC 690; proposed at 48 Ill Reg 6519) effective 4/25/25 at 49 Ill Reg 6180, 
implementing PAs 102-946 and 102-1124. The rulemaking clarifies which 
types of nurse staffing agencies that temporarily employ or assign nurses or 
certified nurse aides to health care facilities are subject to the Act and this 
Part, and also provides guidance on how the requirements of the Act and this 
Part interact with other licensure laws. A nurse agency applying to DOL for a 
license must certify that it holds workers’ compensation and professional 
liability insurance; provide copies of its facility contracts to DOL; pay an 
application fee of $1,000 (previously $250) online, plus $250 for each Illinois 
branch office or location; and provide data on its shift fulfillment rate for the 
previous 3 quarters. Applications no longer have to be notarized since they are 
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being submitted electronically. Fines are raised to $10,000 (formerly $500) per 
violation (other than submission of false/misleading information, for which the 
fine remains $500). The rulemaking allows DOL to initiate an investigation of a 
suspected violation with or without a complaint and sets conditions for the 
employer to respond and request a hearing. Other provisions address 
recordkeeping, quarterly labor cost data reporting, verification of employees’ 
current licensure and continuing education, background checks, on-boarding 
requirements, and non-compete agreements with employees. Since 1st 
Notice, DOL has removed mobile applications, web-based platforms, and 
managed service providers from the definition of a nurse agency subject to 
this Part; removed a requirement that the nurse agency verify an applicant's 
educational credentials; changed the quarterly labor cost reporting schedule; 
clarified procedures for complaint hearings; and removed or modified various 
definitions. Nurse staffing agencies and healthcare facilities which use their 
services are affected. 
 
This rulemaking was changed between proposal and adoption. A summary of 
the changes can be found in item 11 of the Notice of Adopted Amendment. 
 
Questions/requests for copies of rulemaking to: 
 
Anna Koeppel 
Legislative Director 
Illinois Department of Labor 
524 South 2nd Street, Suite 400 
Springfield, Illinois 62701 
 
217-558-1270 
Anna.Koeppel@illinois.gov  
 
NURSING HOMES (5/9/25) (3)  
 
Department of Public Health 
Skilled Nursing and Intermediate Care Facilities Code (77 Ill. Adm. Code 300; 
proposed 49 Ill. Reg. 1397; adopted 49 Ill. Reg. 6468); Sheltered Care Facilities 
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Code (77 Ill. Adm. Code 330; proposed 49 Ill. Reg. 1124; adopted 49 Ill. Reg. 
6515); Illinois Veterans’ Homes Code (77 Ill. Adm. Code 340; proposed 48 Ill. 
Reg. 17240; adopted 49 Ill. Reg. 6539) 
 
Flinn Report summary 
 
The DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH adopted amendments to Skilled 
Nursing and Intermediate Care Facilities Code (77 IAC 300; proposed at 49 Ill 
Reg 1397) effective 4/22/25 at 49 Ill Reg 6468, that define a medical ventilator 
and require facilities to obtain DPH approval and meet National Fire 
Protection Association Standards 70 (National Electrical Code) and 99 (Health 
Care Facilities Code) before providing medical ventilator care to residents. The 
rulemaking also requires licensed staff who administer life-sustaining 
treatments or high acuity services (e.g., ventilator care, on-site dialysis, 
infusion therapy, artificial nutrition/hydration) to be adequately trained to 
administer these treatments.  
 
DPH also adopted amendments to Sheltered Care Facilities Code (77 IAC 330; 
proposed at 49 Ill Reg 1124) effective 4/22/25 at 49 Ill Reg 6515, updating the 
Part to align with changes in statute and policy. The rulemaking implements 
Public Act 103-691, under which facilities that are only partially Medicaid-
certified may discharge a resident from the non-Medicaid-certified portion of 
the facility for inability to pay without Medicaid only if: the resident and/or 
their representative was informed at the time of admission and at each 
contract renewal that the resident could be discharged for inability to pay, and 
the resident or representative acknowledged receiving this information in 
writing. If the resident has been covered by Medicare, the facility must notify 
the resident or representative at least 5 days before the 100-day Medicare 
benefit period ends. The rulemaking also implements Public Act 103-776, 
which requires both the current and prospective owners of facilities that are 
changing ownership to submit to DPH for approval, at the same time that DPH 
is notified of the pending transfer of ownership, a transition plan explaining 
how resident care and appropriate staffing levels will be maintained during 
the transition period. If any resident suffers harm due to failure of the 
transition plan, the facility will receive a "high risk" designation and the party 
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that failed to carry out their responsibility under the transition plan will be 
cited for a violation.  
 
DPH also adopted amendments to Illinois Veterans' Homes Code (77 IAC 340; 
proposed at 48 Ill Reg 17240) effective 4/22/25 at 49 Ill Reg 6539, to align this 
Part with recent updates to the Nursing Home Care Act and federal 
regulations. The rulemaking updates requirements for obtaining informed 
consent for psychotropic medications; implements Public Act 103-1, which 
allows DPH to conduct certain inspections of licensed facilities "to the extent 
feasible" during a statewide public health emergency; and incorporates federal 
requirements regarding antibiotic stewardship programs, strike notification, 
and drug regimen review processes. 
All three rulemakings were changed between proposal and adoption. A 
summary of the changes can be found in item 11 of each Notice of Adopted 
Amendment: Part 300; Part 330; Part 340. 
 
Questions/requests for copies of rulemaking to: 
 
Illinois Department of Public Health 
Attention: Tracey Trigillo, IDPH Rules Coordinator 
Director's Office, Division of Governmental Affairs 
Lincoln Plaza, 524 South 2nd Street, 6th Floor 
Springfield, IL 62701 
 
217-782-1159 
dph.rules@illinois.gov  
 
IEPA REPEALERS (4/25/25) (3)  
 
Environmental Protection Agency 
Introductions and Definitions (35 Ill. Adm. Code 651; 48 Ill. Reg. 12059), Design, 
Operation, and Maintenance Criteria (35 Ill. Adm. Code 653; 48 Ill. Reg. 12066), 
and Raw and Finished Water Quality and Quantity (35 Ill. Adm. Code 654; 48 Ill. 
Reg. 12109) 
Texts of the 3 Rulemakings are linked from the Illinois Register citations above 
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Flinn Report summary 
 
The ILLINOIS ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION AGENCY repealed the Parts 
titled Introductions and Definitions (35 IAC 651; proposed at 48 Ill Reg 12059), 
Design, Operation and Maintenance Criteria (35 IAC 653; proposed at 48 Ill 
Reg 12066) and Raw and Finished Water Quality and Quantity (35 IAC 654; 
proposed at 48 Ill Reg 12109), all effective 4/14/25 at 49 Ill Reg 5816, 5818 
and 5821 because the provisions contained in these Parts have been 
incorporated into 35 IAC 601 and 35 IAC 604 since 2019. 
 
Questions/requests for copies of rulemaking to: 
 
Charles Matoesian 
Assistant Counsel 
Illinois Environmental Protection Agency 
Division of Legal Counsel 
2520 W Iles Ave. 
P.O. Box 19276 
Springfield, Illinois 62794-9276 
 
217-782-5544 
charles.matoesian@illinois.gov  
 
FIRE-RESISTANT MATERIAL (4/25/25) 
 
Office of the State Fire Marshal 
Sprayed Fire-Resistant Material Applicator Registration Rules (41 Ill. Adm. Code 
255) 
Text of Rulemaking: 48 Ill. Reg. 12707 
 
Flinn Report summary 
 
The OFFICE OF THE STATE FIRE MARSHAL adopted a new Part titled Sprayed 
Fire-Resistant Material Applicator Registration Rules (41 IAC 255; proposed at 
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48 Ill Reg 12699) effective 4/8/25 at 49 Ill Reg 5823, that implements the 
Sprayed Fire-Resistant Material Applicator Act [425 ILCS 75]. The Part outlines 
the process by which OSFM will register persons as sprayed fire-resistant 
material applicators and establishes requirements for applicators. The Act and 
the Part define "sprayed fire-resistant material" (SFRM) as cementitious or 
fibrous material applied to a steel structure as fire protection. An individual 
seeking registration as an SFRM applicator must be age 18 or older; hold a 
valid driver's license, other state ID, or passport; and provide proof of having 
completed a plasterer apprenticeship (via a certificate from the U.S. 
Department of Labor or a State apprenticeship program), at least 8 hours of 
training (on the job and/or in the classroom) in SFRM application, or 
equivalent training/certification as determined by OSFM. Registrations are 
valid for 3 years and the registration fee is $75 for renewals on or before the 
expiration date. OSFM will notify registrants at least 90 days before their 
registration expires. Renewal of an expired registration is $125 plus a $50 late 
fee. The rulemaking also establishes processes for OSFM to issue notices of 
violation and civil penalties for violations, and for affected individuals to 
appeal adverse decisions. Written complaints concerning unregistered activity 
may be addressed to the OSFM Division of Fire Prevention. Since 1st Notice, 
OSFM has clarified the plasterer apprenticeship requirements; clarified that 
notices of violation may be appealed; and clarified the procedure for 
registration renewal. Those affected by this rulemaking include businesses that 
apply SFRM in buildings. 
 
This rulemaking was changed between proposal and adoption. A listing of the 
changes made can be found in the Agency’s answer to Question 11 on its Notice 
of Adopted Rules (49 Ill. Reg. 5823). 
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Questions/requests for copies of rulemaking to: 
 
Ashley Vincent 
Legal Division 
Attn: Part 255 Rules 
Office of the State Fire Marshal 
1035 Stevenson Drive 
Springfield, IL 62703 
 
217-606-9822 
SFM.255rulemaking@fdmail.sfm.illinois.gov  
 
SUBSTANCE USE TREATMENT (4/18/25) (2)  
 
Department of Human Services 
Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Treatment and Intervention Licenses (77 Ill. 
Adm. Code 2060) 
Notice of Adopted Repealer: 49 Ill. Reg. 5287; Text of New Part: 49 Ill. Reg. 5290 
 
Flinn Report summary 
 
The DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES repealed the Part titled Alcoholism 
and Substance Abuse Treatment and Intervention Licenses (77 IAC 2060; 
proposed at 48 Ill Reg 5389, adopted at 49 Ill Reg 5287) and adopted a new 
Part titled Substance Use Disorder Treatment and Intervention Services (77 IAC 
2060; proposed at 48 Ill Reg 5484, adopted at 49 Ill Reg 5290), both effective 
4/2/25. The new Part incorporates updated (from 2nd edition (2001) to 3rd 
edition (2013)) substance use disorder (SUD) patient placement criteria 
promulgated by the American Society of Addiction Medicine (ASAM) and 
promotes trauma-informed, culturally relevant, and evidence-based 
approaches to SUD treatment. It also establishes DHS’ Division of Substance 
Use Prevention and Recovery (SUPR) as the sole authority for licensing and 
regulating community-based treatment and intervention organizations. 
Services that may be provided by licensed intervention organizations include 
DUI evaluations, DUI risk education, case management for criminal justice 
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clients diverted to treatment rather than incarceration, and recovery homes for 
persons in any stage of recovery from an SUD. The new Part also clarifies level 
of care requirements ranging from outpatient care to medically-monitored 
inpatient withdrawal management; adds provisions for opioid use disorder 
treatment providers; removes or replaces stigmatizing language (e.g., 
replacing “relapse” with “reoccurrence”); adds, removes or revises various 
definitions; updates incorporations by reference of the American Psychiatric 
Association’s Diagnostic and Statistical Manual 5th Edition (DSM-5), other 
professional standards, and facility codes; and more clearly separates medical 
and clinical responsibilities. Since 1st Notice, DHS has made numerous 
changes requested by commenters, including: changing the criteria for a "high 
risk" DUI offender from 3 or more DUI convictions/dispositions in a 10-year 
period to 3 or more lifetime DUI dispositions; clarifying the professional 
qualifications for various clinical and supervisory positions; clarifying the 
supervision requirements for clinical staff (e.g., interns) that have yet to 
complete educational or other criteria for their position; removing references 
to organization licensing fees; and recognizing the 4th edition (2024) of the 
ASAM patient placement criteria for use beginning 7/1/25. Substance use 
disorder intervention and treatment providers are affected by these 
rulemakings. 
 
Questions/requests for copies of rulemaking to: 
 
Tracie Drew, Chief 
Bureau of Administrative Rules and Procedures 
Department of Human Services 
100 South Grand Avenue East 
Harris Building, 3rd Floor 
Springfield, Illinois 62762 
 
217-785-9772 
DHS.AdministrativeRules@illinois.gov  
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SALES TAXES (4/18/25) (2) 
 
Department of Revenue 
Retailers’ Occupation Tax (86 Ill. Adm. Code 130); Service Occupation Tax (86 Ill. 
Adm. Code 140) 
Text of Rulemakings: 49 Ill. Reg. 5419 and 5457 
 
Flinn Report summary 
 
The DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE adopted amendments to Retailers' 
Occupation Tax (86 IAC 130; proposed at 48 Ill Reg 17483 and 17691) effective 
4/1/25 at 49 Ill Reg 5419, combining two separately proposed rulemakings. 
These amendments implement Public Act 103-0966 and its provisions for 
Direct Pay Permit holders (taxpaying entities granted approval from DOR to 
pay the sales taxes due on their vendor purchases directly to DOR with their 
own sales tax returns, instead of paying that tax to the vendor) and other 
Public Acts concerning taxable sales and sales tax exemptions. The rulemaking 
provides guidance, including examples, regarding the annual review process 
for Direct Pay Permit holders, the filing of amended returns, and penalties for 
noncompliance. Taxpayers must complete and submit annual reviews for each 
calendar year (to determine whether all sales taxes were correctly sourced and 
paid) by March 31 of the following year. If corrections are needed, an 
amended return must be filed by April 20. Failure to comply with these 
requirements incurs a $6,000 penalty for each review period. The rulemaking 
also expands the definition of taxable sales effective 1/1/25 to include leases, 
except for certain leases of computer software and property leases taxed by a 
home rule unit of local government prior to 1/1/23 (these exemptions remain 
in effect through 12/31/29). Other transactions exempt from sales or service 
tax include sales made to an active duty member of the U.S. Armed Forces 
who presents valid military identification and uses a form of payment whereby 
the federal government is the payor, as well as home-delivered meals to 
Medicare or Medicaid recipients paid for by an intermediary such as a 
managed care organization or a Medicare Advantage Organization pursuant 
to a government contract. This rulemaking also repeals an obsolete tax 
exemption for commercial distribution fees on vehicles that expired in 2005. 
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Businesses that have received Direct Pay Permits are affected. DOR also 
adopted amendments to Service Occupation Tax (86 IAC 140; proposed at 48 
Ill Reg 17725) effective 4/1/25 at 49 Ill Reg 5457, that extend the service 
occupation tax to leases effective 1/1/25 (with exceptions for computer 
software and property leases taxed by a home rule unit of government), 
exempt sales to active-duty service members and home-delivered meals from 
this tax, and repeal the obsolete exemption for commercial distribution fees 
on vehicles. 
 
Both Parts were changed between proposal and adoption. A summary of the 
changes can be found in item 11 of the Notice of Adopted Amendment for Parts 
130 and 140, respectively. 
 
Questions/requests for copies: 
 
Alexis K. Overstreet (Part 130) or Kimberly Rossini (Part 140) 
Illinois Department of Revenue 
101 W. Jefferson Street 
Springfield, IL 62794 
 
217-782-7055 
REV.GCO@illinois.gov 
 
DAY CARE: CHILDREN’S PRODUCT SAFETY (4/11/25) 
 
Department of Children and Family Services 
Children’s Product Safety (89 Ill. Adm. Code 386) 
Text of Rulemaking: 49 Ill. Reg. 4450 
 
Flinn Report summary 
 
DCFS also adopted amendments to the Part titled Children's Product Safety 
(89 IAC 386; proposed at 48 Ill Reg 15953) effective 3/28/25 at 49 Ill Reg 4450, 
updating its procedures for informing day care providers of children's product 
safety recalls. A "children's product" is defined as a product designed or 
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intended for the care or use of any child under age 12 (previously, any product 
intended specifically for children under 6, or for children of all ages). DCFS 
notifications to day care providers regarding children's product recalls shall 
include a web link to the comprehensive list of products deemed by the 
Department of Public Health to be unsafe for use in day care environments. 
The rulemaking also strikes obsolete provisions left over from the initial 
implementation of the Children's Product Safety Act on 7/1/00. 
 
Questions/requests for copies of rulemaking to: 
 
Tamara Bristow 
Office of Child and Family Policy 
Department of Children and Family Services 
406 E. Monroe, Station #65 
Springfield, Illinois 62701 
 
217-524-1983 
DCFS.Policy@illinois.gov  
 
LONG-TERM CARE COST REPORTS (4/11/25) 
 
Department of Healthcare and Family Services 
Medical Payment (89 Ill. Adm. Code 140) 
Text of Rulemaking: 49 Ill. Reg. 4457 
 
Flinn Report summary 
 
The DEPARTMENT OF HEALTHCARE AND FAMILY SERVICES adopted 
amendments to Medical Payment (89 IAC 140; proposed at 49 Ill Reg 1) 
effective 3/27/25 at 49 Ill Reg 4457, concerning the annual filing deadlines for 
Long Term Care (LTC) facility financial and statistical reports (cost reports). The 
rulemaking extends the cost report due date for facilities whose fiscal year 
ends on or before June 30 to November 30 of the applicable year. For facilities 
whose fiscal year ends after June 30, the report is due 5 months after the fiscal 
year end date. (Previously, all reports were due within 90 days after the end of 
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the facility's fiscal year.) A 30-day extension of the due date that is provided 
for in current rule will only be granted for extraordinary circumstances over 
which the provider has no control. The rulemaking also provides that cost 
reports filed prior to July 1 (formerly, prior to April 1) of the applicable year 
will be used to calculate the facility's rates for the upcoming July 1 rate year. 
 
This rulemaking was changed between proposal and adoption. A summary of 
the changes can be found in item 11 of the Notice of Adopted Amendment. 
 
Questions/requests for copies of rulemaking to: 
 
Kathy Muse 
General Counsel 
Illinois Department of Healthcare and Family Services 
201 South Grand Avenue East, 3rd Floor 
Springfield IL 62763-0002 
 
217-782-1233 
HFS.Rules@Illinois.gov  
 
HOME HEALTH SERVICES (4/11/25) 
 
Department of Public Health 
Home Health, Home Services, and Home Nursing Agency Code (77 Ill. Adm. 
Code 245) 
Text of Rulemaking: 49 Ill. Reg. 4661 
 
Flinn Report summary 
 
DPH also adopted an amendment to Home Health, Home Services, and Home 
Nursing Agency Code (77 IAC 245; proposed at 48 Ill Reg 17466) effective 
3/25/25 at 49 Ill Reg 4661, clarifying training requirements in Section 245.71(i) 
to state that a home services agency shall provide a home services worker 
with a copy of their training certificate, upon request. Home services providers 
are affected. 
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Questions/requests for copies of rulemaking to: 
 
Illinois Department of Public Health 
Attention: Tracey Trigillo, IDPH Rules Coordinator 
Director's Office, Division of Governmental Affairs 
Lincoln Plaza, 524 South 2nd Street, 6th Floor 
Springfield, IL 62701 
 
217-782-1159 
dph.rules@illinois.gov  
 
NURSING HOMES (4/11/25) 
 
Department of Public Health 
Skilled Nursing and Intermediate Care Facilities Code (77 Ill. Adm. Code 300) 
Text of Rulemaking: 49 Ill. Reg. 4670 
 
Flinn Report summary 
 
The DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH adopted amendments to Skilled 
Nursing and Intermediate Care Facilities Code (77 IAC 300; proposed at 48 Ill 
Reg 17210) effective 3/25/25 at 49 Ill Reg 4670, implementing Public Acts 103-
691 and 103-776. This rulemaking allows a nursing facility with certain parts 
that are not certified for participation in the Medical Assistance program (e.g., 
rehabilitation) to discharge residents who cannot self-pay from the non-
Medicaid-certified portions of the facility under the following conditions: the 
facility explained to the resident and/or the resident's representative, at the 
time of admission and upon renewal of their contract, that they could be 
discharged for inability to pay without medical assistance; the resident and/or 
representative acknowledges in writing having received this explanation; and, 
in cases where the resident's stay has been covered by Medicare and coverage 
is ending prior to the full 100-day benefit period, the facility has given the 
resident 5 days' notice of the termination of their Medicare coverage. The 
rulemaking also requires the new owners of facilities that are changing 
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ownership to submit a detailed transition plan, documenting how resident 
care and appropriate staffing levels will be maintained during the transition 
process, to DPH for approval at the same time that they apply for their initial 
(new) license. A facility that fails to follow its transition plan and thereby 
causes harm to a resident will be cited for a violation and designated as "high 
risk". Finally, the rulemaking clarifies that work eligibility status for all 
prospective employees subject to the Health Care Worker Background Check 
Act must be checked prior to hiring. 
 
This rulemaking was changed between proposal and adoption. A summary of 
the changes can be found in item 11 of the Notice of Adopted Amendment. 
 
Questions/requests for copies of rulemaking to: 
 
Illinois Department of Public Health 
Attention: Tracey Trigillo, IDPH Rules Coordinator 
Director's Office, Division of Governmental Affairs 
Lincoln Plaza, 524 South 2nd Street, 6th Floor 
Springfield, IL 62701 
 
217-782-1159 
dph.rules@illinois.gov  
 
NURSING ASSISTANT EXAM: ENGLISH OR SPANISH (4/11/25) 
 
Department of Public Health 
Long-Term Care Assistants and Aides Training Programs Code (77 Ill. Adm. 
Code 395) 
Text of Rulemaking: 49 Ill. Adm. Code 4699 
 
Flinn Report summary 
 
DPH adopted amendments to Long-Term Care Assistants and Aides Training 
Programs Code (77 IAC 395; proposed at 48 Ill Reg 17475) effective 3/25/25 at 
49 Ill Reg 4699, implementing Public Act 103-0695. The Act and this 
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rulemaking require DPH to give nursing assistant students the option to take 
the required examination in either Spanish or English, without restrictions on 
who may take the exam in either language. Nursing assistant training 
programs are affected. 
 
The only differences between the proposed and final versions are the code text 
from amendments adopted at 48 Ill. Reg. 17753, effective December 2, 2024. 
 
Questions/requests for copies of rulemaking to: 
 
Illinois Department of Public Health 
Attention: Tracey Trigillo, IDPH Rules Coordinator 
Director's Office, Division of Governmental Affairs 
Lincoln Plaza, 524 South 2nd Street, 6th Floor 
Springfield, IL 62701 
 
217-782-1159 
dph.rules@illinois.gov  
 
NEWBORN SCREENING (4/11/25) 
 
Department of Public Health 
Newborn and Infant Screening and Treatment Code (77 Ill. Adm. Code 661) 
Text of Rulemaking: 49 Ill. Reg. 4706 
 
Flinn Report summary 
 
DPH adopted amendments to Newborn and Infant Screening and Treatment 
Code (77 IAC 661; proposed at 48 Ill Reg 14523) effective 3/25/25 at 49 Ill Reg 
4706, that permit blood spot samples to be retained by DPH for development, 
validation, and quality assurance of newborn screening tests, either within the 
Department or on behalf of screening partners such as the federal Centers for 
Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). Residual blood samples left after all 
specimens have been submitted for testing may be released to the parents or 
guardians of the newborn (with a $25 administrative fee), or with the 
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parents/guardians' consent, to a designated CLIA certified clinical laboratory 
for further analysis. DPH will determine whether a residual blood sample is 
sufficient for release to parents/guardians or other laboratories. Health care 
providers and clinical laboratories are affected. 
 
Questions/requests for copies of rulemaking to: 
 
Illinois Department of Public Health 
Attention: Tracey Trigillo, IDPH Rules Coordinator 
Director's Office, Division of Governmental Affairs 
Lincoln Plaza, 524 South 2nd Street, 6th Floor 
Springfield, IL 62701 
 
217-782-1159 
dph.rules@illinois.gov  
 
SEXUALLY TRANSMISSIBLE INFECTION CONTROL MEASURES: HIV-
POSITIVE HEALTH CARE PROFESSIONALS (4/11/25) 
 
Department of Public Health 
Control of Sexually Transmissible Infections Code (77 Ill. Adm. Code 693) 
Text of Rulemaking: 49 Ill. Reg. 4721 
 
Flinn Report summary 
 
DPH also adopted amendments to Control of Sexually Transmissible Infections 
Code (77 IAC 693; proposed at 48 Ill Reg 13555) effective 3/25/25 at 49 Ill Reg 
4721, updating clinical guidance on invasive procedure precautions for health 
care professionals who are living with HIV, clinical recommendations for 
Expedited Partner Therapy (EPT), and updating terminology related to HIV and 
AIDS. The rulemaking aligns its definitions of acquired immunodeficiency 
syndrome (AIDS) and Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV) infection with 
those of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, and changes 
references to "HIV infected persons" to "persons living with HIV". Updated 
professional medical standards and guidance for healthcare personnel living 
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with HIV are incorporated in this Part and such personnel are advised to follow 
updated guidance regarding their performance of invasive procedures on 
patients. Procedures for investigating possible secondary exposure of patients 
or others to HIV from a healthcare worker who is living with HIV are also 
clarified. Persons diagnosed with chlamydia, gonorrhea or trichomonas by a 
health care professional outside of a local health department shall be offered 
EPT services enabling their sexual partners to receive immediate treatment 
without having to present themselves for an exam first. Health care providers 
are advised to "strongly consider" offering EPT services to pregnant partners 
(previously, EPT for pregnant partners was described as "a last resort" since 
certain antibiotics used to treat STIs are contraindicated for pregnant patients) 
and to recommend that they advise their prenatal care providers if they have 
received EPT. Health care providers and local health departments are affected. 
 
This rulemaking was changed between proposal and adoption. A summary of 
the changes can be found in item 11 of the Notice of Adopted Amendment. 
 
Questions/requests for copies of rulemaking to: 
 
Illinois Department of Public Health 
Attention: Tracey Trigillo, IDPH Rules Coordinator 
Director's Office, Division of Governmental Affairs 
Lincoln Plaza, 524 South 2nd Street, 6th Floor 
Springfield, IL 62701 
 
217-782-1159 
dph.rules@illinois.gov  
 
MANDATED REPORTER TRAINING: IMPLICIT BIAS (4/4/25) (5) 
 
Department of Children and Family Services 
Licensing Standards for Child Welfare Agencies (89 Ill. Adm. Code 401; 49 Ill. 
Reg. 3880); Licensing Standards for Group Homes (89 Ill. Adm. Code 403; 49 Ill. 
Reg. 3889); Licensing Standards for Child Care Institutions and Maternity 
Centers (89 Ill. Adm. Code 404; 49 Ill. Reg. 3893); Licensing Standards for Youth 
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Transitional Housing Programs (89 Ill. Adm. Code 409; 49 Ill. Reg. 3898); 
Licensing Standards for Youth Emergency Shelters (89 Ill. Adm. Code 410; 49 Ill. 
Reg. 3904) 
Texts of the 5 Rulemakings are linked from Illinois Register citations above  
 
Flinn Report summary 
 
The DEPARTMENT OF CHILDREN AND FAMILY SERVICES adopted 
amendments to Licensing Standards for Child Welfare Agencies (89 IAC 401; 
proposed at 48 Ill Reg 16656, adopted at 49 Ill Reg 3880), Licensing Standards 
for Group Homes (89 IAC 403; proposed at 48 Ill Reg 16666, adopted at 49 Ill 
Reg 3889), Licensing Standards for Child Care Institutions and Maternity 
Centers (89 IAC 404; proposed at 48 Ill Reg 16671, adopted at 49 Ill Reg 3893), 
Licensing Standards for Youth Transitional Housing Programs (89 IAC 409; 
proposed at 48 Ill Reg 16702, adopted at 49 Ill Reg 3898), and Licensing 
Standards for Youth Emergency Shelters (89 IAC 410; proposed at 48 Ill Reg 
16709, adopted at 49 Ill Reg 3904), all effective 3/18/25, implementing Public 
Acts 101-564 and 102-604. These Public Acts and rulemakings implement 
amendments to the Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act (ANCRA) [325 
ILCS 5] that require training for mandated reporters of child abuse and neglect 
to include a section on implicit bias. (ANCRA requires implicit bias training to 
address "attitudes or internalized stereotypes that affect people's perceptions, 
actions, and decisions in an unconscious manner and often contribute to 
unequal treatment of people based on race, ethnicity, gender identity, sexual 
orientation, age, disability, and other characteristics".) These rulemakings 
require implicit bias training to be completed within 3 months after an 
individual's initial licensure and every 3 years thereafter, and proof of 
completion to be kept in the individual's personnel record. Those affected by 
these rulemakings include day care providers, child welfare agency 
caseworkers, group home staff, and staff of DCFS-licensed youth programs 
and facilities. 
 
Questions/requests for copies of rulemakings to: 
 
Tamara Bristow 
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Office of Child and Family Policy 
Department of Children and Family Services 
406 E. Monroe, Station #65 
Springfield, Illinois 62701 
 
217-524-1983 
DCFS.Policy@illinois.gov  
 
ENVIRONMENTAL LABORATORIES: WATER TESTING METHODS (4/4/25) 
 
Environmental Protection Agency 
Accreditation of Environmental Laboratories (35 Ill. Adm. Code 186) 
Text of Rulemaking: 49 Ill. Reg. 3916 
 
Flinn Report summary 
 
The ILLINOIS ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION AGENCY adopted an 
amendment to Accreditation of Environmental Laboratories (35 IAC 186; 
proposed at 48 Ill Reg 15011) effective 3/24/25 at 49 Ill Reg 3916, that 
updates an incorporation by reference of federal Clean Water Act rules for 
effluent analysis that were effective 4/16/24. Environmental laboratories that 
perform water testing may be affected. 
 
Questions/requests for copies of rulemaking to: 
 
Rebecca Strauss 
Division of Legal Counsel 
Illinois Environmental Protection Agency 
2520 West Iles Avenue 
P. O. Box 19276 
Springfield, Illinois 62704 
 
rebecca.strauss@illinois.gov  
217-782-5544 
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Kaitlyn Hutchison 
Division of Legal Counsel 
Illinois Environmental Protection Agency 
2420 West Iles Avenue 
P. O. Box 19276 
Springfield, Illinois 62704 
 
kaitlyn.hutchison@illinois.gov  
217-782-5544 
 
CONSUMER LOANS (4/4/25) (2) 
 
Department of Financial and Professional Regulation 
Consumer Installment Loan Act (38 Ill. Adm. Code 110) and Sales Finance 
Agency Act (38 Ill. Adm. Code 160) 
Text of Rulemakings: 49 Ill. Reg. 3924 and 3936 
 
Flinn Report summary 
 
The DEPARTMENT OF FINANCIAL AND PROFESSIONAL REGULATION adopted 
amendments to the Parts titled Consumer Installment Loan Act (38 IAC 110; 
proposed at 48 Ill Reg 14414) and Sales Finance Agency Act (38 IAC 160; 
proposed at 48 Ill Reg 14426), both effective 3/21/25 at 49 Ill Reg 3924 and 
3936, that require licensees to submit a year-end balance sheet, prepared 
according to generally accepted accounting principles, during the annual 
renewal process in order to document that the licensee has maintained a 
positive net worth of at least $30,000 as required under both Acts. Licensees 
must also provide balance sheets when the Secretary of DFPR has good cause 
to believe the licensee may not have maintained the required positive net 
worth. If a loan is paid off early for any reason, the borrower must receive a 
refund of any unearned insurance, debt cancellation, or other charges. The 
Part 110 amendments also clarify that a licensee may not require a borrower 
to purchase more than one type of property damage insurance when property 
is used as security for a loan, nor can the licensee require the borrower to 
purchase any insurance that the borrower cannot reasonably obtain from a 
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source not connected to or recommended by the licensee. Those affected by 
these rulemakings include consumer installment lenders (e.g., payday or short-
term lenders) and sales finance agencies that provide financing toward 
purchases of vehicles, appliances, or other consumer goods. 
 
Both rulemakings were changed between proposal and adoption. A summary of 
the changes can be found in item 11 of each Notice of Adopted Amendment. 
 
Questions/requests for copies of rulemaking to: 
 
Department of Financial and Professional Regulation 
Attention: Craig Cellini 
320 West Washington, 2nd Floor 
Springfield, Illinois 62786 
 
217-785-0810 
Fax: 217-557-4451 
Craig.Cellini@illinois.gov 
 
GRANT RULES (4/4/25) 
 
Governor’s Office of Management and Budget 
Grant Accountability and Transparency Act (44 Ill. Adm. Code 7000) 
Text of Rulemaking: 49 Ill. Reg. 3947 
 
Flinn Report summary 
 
The GOVERNOR'S OFFICE OF MANAGEMENT AND BUDGET adopted 
amendments to the Part titled Grant Accountability and Transparency Act (44 
IAC 7000; proposed at 48 Ill Reg 17868) effective 3/20/25 at 49 Ill Reg 3947, 
aligning the GATA administrative rules with recent changes to federal 
regulations applicable to federally funded grants (Uniform Administrative 
Requirements, 2 CFR 200). These changes include setting the threshold cost 
below which computer devices are counted as temporary supplies rather than 
as long-term equipment at the lesser of $10,000 (previously, $5,000) or the 
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capitalization level established by the awardee for financial statement 
purposes. The definition of modified total direct cost (MTDC) is updated to 
include the first $50,000 (previously $25,000) of each subaward, and the 
threshold federal funds expenditure levels for various audit requirements are 
increased. The optional "de minimis" indirect cost rate for State grants is 
increased from 10% to 15% of MTDC. Additionally, a new or modified grant 
may be made to an entity on the Illinois Stop Payment List (formerly, rule 
prohibited this in all cases) in extenuating circumstances, such as a court order 
or consent decree, or if the grant modification would enable the entity to 
become compliant. Businesses and non-profit entities seeking State grants 
may be affected. 
 
This rulemaking was changed between proposal and adoption. A summary of 
the changes can be found in item 11 of the Notice of Adopted Amendment. 
 
Questions/requests for copies of rulemaking to: 
 
Davina Hughes, Deputy General Counsel 
Governor's Office of Management and Budget 
601 Stratton Building 
Springfield, Illinois 62706 
 
217-782-2625 
OMB.GATA@illinois.gov  
 
MEDICAL DEBT RELIEF (4/4/25) 
 
Department of Healthcare and Family Services 
Medical Assistance Programs (89 Ill. Adm. Code 120) 
Text of Rulemaking: 49 Ill. Reg. 4009 
 
Flinn Report summary 
 
The DEPARTMENT OF HEALTHCARE AND FAMILY SERVICES adopted an 
amendment to Medical Assistance Programs (89 IAC 120; proposed at 48 Ill Reg 
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17194) effective 3/20/25 at 49 Ill Reg 4009, implementing Public Act 103-647. 
The PA and this rulemaking implement a 5-year Medical Debt Relief Pilot 
Program, effective through 6/30/29, under which eligible Illinois residents with 
household incomes at or below 400% of the Federal Poverty Level and medical 
debt totaling 5% or more of their household income may have their medical 
debts purchased, negotiated and discharged with grant funding from a special 
fund in the State Treasury. (Eligible residents do not file applications or take any 
action under this program.) HFS will appoint a Nonprofit Medical Debt Relief 
Coordinator who shall identify residents eligible for the program; review 
medical debt accounts from commercial debt collection agencies or health care 
providers who are willing to sell and settle medical debt accounts of eligible 
residents; conduct outreach to hospitals (beginning with safety-net hospitals) 
and other providers to inform them of the program; acquire and negotiate 
medical debt accounts of eligible residents; and inform residents whose debt 
has been acquired and paid by the Debt Relief Coordinator that these debts 
have been discharged. To the extent possible, the Debt Relief Coordinator will 
prioritize medical debts from hospitals that serve a high number or percentage 
of Medicaid customers or are located in disproportionately impacted areas. HFS 
shall also provide an annual report to the General Assembly of the number of 
residents who receive medical debt relief, the amount of medical debt 
discharged, demographic characteristics of eligible residents (subject to HIPAA 
and other medical privacy laws) and the characteristics of the healthcare 
providers from whom medical debt was purchased and discharged. Health care 
providers and debt collection agencies may be affected by this rulemaking. 
 
This rulemaking was changed between proposal and adoption. A summary of 
the changes can be found in item 11 of the Notice of Adopted Amendment. 
 
Questions/requests for copies of rulemaking to: 
 
Kathy Muse 
General Counsel 
Illinois Department of Healthcare and Family Services 
201 South Grand Avenue East, 3rd Floor 
Springfield IL 62763-0002 
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217-782-1233 
HFS.Rules@Illinois.gov  
 
INVESTMENT ADVISORS (4/4/25) 
 
Secretary of State 
Regulations Under Illinois Securities Law of 1953 (14 Ill. Adm. Code 130) 
Text of Rulemaking: 49 Ill. Reg. 4061 
 
Flinn Report summary 
 
SOS adopted amendments to the Part titled Regulations Under Illinois 
Securities Law of 1953 (14 IAC 130; proposed at 48 Ill Reg 15409) effective 
3/19/25 at 49 Ill Reg 4061, aligning various provisions with federal regulations. 
This rulemaking extends continuing education (CE) requirements to all Illinois-
licensed investment adviser representatives (IARs) that do not already have CE 
requirements for licensure as salespersons in Illinois or for licensure as IARs in 
other states. An IAR who has been inactive for up to 5 years (previously, up to 
2 years) and wishes to re-enter the investment industry will not be required to 
retake securities examinations provided the IAR has kept current with CE 
requirements. Other provisions remove obsolete references and designations. 
Licensed securities investment advisors and salespersons and their employers 
are affected by this rulemaking. 
 
This rulemaking was changed between proposal and adoption. A summary of 
the changes can be found in item 11 of the Notice of Adopted Amendment. 
 
Questions/requests for copies of rulemaking to: 
 
Pamela Wright 
Rules Coordinator 
Office of the General Counsel 
298 Howlett Building 
Springfield, IL 62756 

mailto:HFS.Rules@Illinois.gov
https://www.ilsos.gov/
https://ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/014/01400130sections.html
https://www.ilsos.gov/departments/index/register/volume49/register_volume49_14.pdf#page=253
https://www.ilga.gov/commission/jcar/flinn/20250404_April%204,%202025%20-%20Issue%2014.pdf#page=4
https://www.ilsos.gov/departments/index/register/volume49/register_volume49_14.pdf#page=253
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217-785-3094 
pwright@ilsos.gov  
 
VEHICLE TRANSPORTERS (4/4/25) 
 
Secretary of State 
Dealers, Wreckers, Transporters and Rebuilders (92 Ill. Adm. Code 1020) 
Text of Rulemaking: 49 Ill. Reg. 4090 
 
Flinn Report summary 
 
SOS adopted amendments to the Part titled Dealers, Wreckers, Transporters 
and Rebuilders (92 IAC 1020; proposed at 48 Ill Reg 14013) effective 3/20/25 
at 49 Ill Reg 4090, aligning rules for vehicle transporters with those of other 
vehicle-related businesses under the Illinois Vehicle Code. The rulemaking 
includes limitations on the issuance, use, and display of in-transit plates; 
requires transporters to have an established place of business; and 
implements record keeping and inspection requirements. Businesses that 
transport vehicles or use the services of transporters are affected. 
 
This rulemaking was changed between proposal and adoption. A summary of 
the changes can be found in item 11 of the Notice of Adopted Amendment. 
 
Questions/requests for copies of rulemaking to: 
 
Pamela Wright 
Rules Coordinator 
Office of the General Counsel 
298 Howlett Building 
Springfield, IL 62756 
 
217-785-3094 
pwright@ilsos.gov  
 

mailto:pwright@ilsos.gov
https://www.ilsos.gov/
https://ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/092/09201020sections.html
https://www.ilsos.gov/departments/index/register/volume49/register_volume49_14.pdf#page=282
https://www.ilga.gov/commission/jcar/flinn/20250404_April%204,%202025%20-%20Issue%2014.pdf#page=3
https://www.ilsos.gov/departments/index/register/volume49/register_volume49_14.pdf#page=282
mailto:pwright@ilsos.gov
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MEDICAL PAYMENT: MEDICAL TRANSPORTATION, ACUPUNCTURE 
(4/4/25) 
 
Department of Healthcare and Family Services 
Medical Payment (89 Ill. Adm. Code 140) 
Text of Rulemaking: 49 Ill. Reg. 4026 
 
Flinn Report summary 
 
The DEPARTMENT OF HEALTHCARE AND FAMILY SERVICES adopted 
amendments to Medical Payment (89 IAC 140; 48 Ill Reg 17432 and 18101) 
effective 3/20/25 at 49 Ill Reg 4026, combining two separately proposed 
rulemakings. The rulemaking implements Public Acts 103-102 and 102-364 by 
requiring mandatory safety training for non-emergency medi-car and service 
car drivers and attendants (required every 3 years) to be administered by the 
transportation provider when the provider is licensed by the Department of 
Public Health and HFS has approved the in-house program. The rulemaking 
also changes the rates for ground and air, including helicopter, ambulances to 
100% of the rate specified in the current HFS Fee Schedule (previously, 100% 
of the rate established on 6/30/12) and adds transportation company 
networks to the list of medical transportation providers that may receive 
Medicaid reimbursement. Providers of ambulance, medi-car, and other 
medical transportation systems are affected by these amendments. Other 
amendments implement a provision of the FY23 Medicaid Omnibus (PA 102-
1037) and a Medicaid State Plan Amendment that authorized coverage of 
certain acupuncture services effective 4/1/23. The rulemaking removes 
acupuncture from the list of services not covered in Section 140.6 and adds a 
new Section establishing criteria for covering acupuncture. Services must be 
provided by an acupuncturist licensed by the Department of Financial and 
Professional Regulation and are limited to procedures addressing chronic 
lower back pain or breech baby presentation during pregnancy. 
 
This rulemaking was changed between proposal and adoption. A summary of 
the changes can be found in item 11 of the Notice of Adopted Amendment. 
 

https://hfs.illinois.gov/
https://ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/089/08900140sections.html
https://www.ilsos.gov/departments/index/register/volume49/register_volume49_14.pdf#page=218
https://ilgov.sharepoint.com/teams/CEO-BIC-Reg_Flex/Shared%20Documents/General/RF%20Working/Website%20updates/commission
https://www.ilga.gov/legislation/publicacts/fulltext.asp?Name=103-0102
https://www.ilga.gov/legislation/publicacts/fulltext.asp?Name=102-0364
https://www.ilga.gov/legislation/publicacts/fulltext.asp?Name=102-1037
https://www.ilga.gov/legislation/publicacts/fulltext.asp?Name=102-1037
https://www.ilsos.gov/departments/index/register/volume49/register_volume49_14.pdf#page=218
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Questions/requests for copies of rulemaking to: 
 
Kathy Muse 
General Counsel 
Illinois Department of Healthcare and Family Services 
201 South Grand Avenue East, 3rd Floor 
Springfield IL 62763-0002 
 
217-782-1233 
HFS.Rules@Illinois.gov  
 
INSURANCE COMPLAINTS (3/28/25) 
 
Department of Insurance 
Required Procedure for Consumer Complaint Notification (50 Ill. Adm. Code 
931) 
Text of Adopted Rulemaking: 49 Ill. Reg. 3767 
 
Flinn Report Summary 
 
DOI adopted amendments to Required Procedure for Consumer Complaint 
Notification (50 IAC 931; proposed at 48 Ill. Reg. 14479) effective 7/1/25 at 49 
Ill. Reg. 3767, updating a statutory requirement for insurance companies to 
provide insureds with information on where to file complaints regarding their 
policies. The notice must be sent whenever policies are renewed and state that 
complaints can be filed online at the DOI website, or by mail to the Chicago or 
Springfield address of the DOI Consumer Division. Additionally, the 
Department is removing an exception for short-term travel accident policies. 
Since 1st Notice, DOI has decided to retain exceptions for marine, fidelity and 
surety policies. 
 
The rulemaking was changed between proposal and adoption. A summary of 
the changes can be found in item 11 of the Notice of Adopted Amendment. 
 
Questions/requests for copies of rulemaking to: 

mailto:HFS.Rules@Illinois.gov
https://idoi.illinois.gov/
https://ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/050/05000931sections.html
https://ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/050/05000931sections.html
https://www.ilsos.gov/departments/index/register/volume49/register_volume49_13.pdf#page=203
https://www.ilga.gov/commission/jcar/flinn/20250328_March%2028,%202025%20-%20Issue%2013.pdf#page=4
https://www.ilsos.gov/departments/index/register/volume49/register_volume49_13.pdf#page=203
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Susan Berry 
Group Solvency Specialist 
Illinois Department of Insurance 
320 West Washington St., 4th Floor 
Springfield, IL 62767 
 
217-782-1759 
Susan.Berry@illinois.gov  
 
  

mailto:Susan.Berry@illinois.gov
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INDEX BY NAICS CATEGORY 
 
11. AGRICULTURE, FORESTRY, FISHING, AND HUNTING 

- 5/23/25 – DOL: Day & Temporary Labor  
- (ADOPTED) 5/23/25 – DHS: Farms and Food Banks 
- (ADOPTED) 4/4/25 – GOMB: Grant Rules 

 
21. MINING: 

- 5/23/25 – DOL: Day & Temporary Labor  
- (ADOPTED) 4/4/25 – GOMB: Grant Rules 

 
22. UTILITIES 

- 5/23/25 – DOL: Day & Temporary Labor  
- (ADOPTED) 4/4/25 – GOMB: Grant Rules 

 
23. CONSTRUCTION: 

- 6/6/25 – CDB – Building Codes 
- (ADOPTED) 5/23/25 – DCEO: Construction Bid Credits 
- 5/23/25 – DOL: Day & Temporary Labor  
- 5/16/25 – CPO-GS – General Services Standard Procurement Preferences 
- 5/16/25 – DOR – Sales Tax 
- (ADOPTED) 5/16/25 – CDB – Construction Grants for Early Childhood 

Facilities 
- (ADOPTED) 4/25/25 – OSFM – Fire-Resistant Material 
- (ADOPTED) 4/18/25 – DOR: Sales Taxes 
- (ADOPTED) 4/4/25 – GOMB: Grant Rules 

 
31-33. MANUFACTURING 

- 5/23/25 – DOL: Day & Temporary Labor  
- (ADOPTED) 4/4/25 – GOMB: Grant Rules 

 
42. WHOLESALE TRADE 

- 5/23/25 – DOL: Day & Temporary Labor  
- (ADOPTED) 4/18/25 – DOR: Sales Taxes 
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- (ADOPTED) 4/4/25 – GOMB: Grant Rules 
- (ADOPTED) 4/4/25 – SOS: Vehicle Transporters 

 
44-45. RETAIL TRADE  

- (ADOPTED) 6/27/25 – DOR: Sales Taxes (4) 
- 5/23/25 – DOL: Day & Temporary Labor  
- 5/16/25 – DOR – Sales Tax 

(ADOPTED) 4/18/25 – DOR: Sales Taxes 
- (ADOPTED) 4/4/25 – GOMB: Grant Rules 
- (ADOPTED) 4/4/25 – SOS: Vehicle Transporters 

 
48-49. TRANSPORTATION AND WAREHOUSING 

- 6/13/25 – DOT: Vehicle Safety Inspection Stations 
- (ADOPTED) 5/30/25 – DOR: Vehicle Rental Taxes 
- 5/23/25 – DOL: Day & Temporary Labor  
- (ADOPTED) 4/4/25 – GOMB: Grant Rules 
- (ADOPTED) 4/4/25 – SOS: Vehicle Transporters 
- (ADOPTED) 4/4/25 – HFS: Medical Transportation, Acupuncture 

 
51. INFORMATION 

- 5/23/25 – DOL: Day & Temporary Labor  
- (ADOPTED) 4/4/25 – GOMB: Grant Rules 

 
52. FINANCE AND INSURANCE 

- (ADOPTED) 6/13/25 – Treasurer: Development Loans 
- 5/30/25 – DOR: Financial Institutions: Income Tax 
- 5/23/25 – DOL: Day & Temporary Labor  
- 5/23/25 – DFPR: Consumer Lenders (2) 
- (ADOPTED) 4/4/25 – SOS: Investment Advisors 
- (ADOPTED) 4/4/25 – DFPR: Consumer Loans 
- (ADOPTED) 4/4/25 – GOMB: Grant Rules 
- (ADOPTED) 3/28/25 – DOI: Insurance Complaints 

 
53. REAL ESTATE RENTAL AND LEASING 

- 5/23/25 – DOL: Day & Temporary Labor  



87 
 
 

- 5/16/25 – DOR – Sales Tax 
- (ADOPTED) 4/4/25 – GOMB: Grant Rules 

 
54. PROFESSIONAL, SCIENTIFIC, AND TECHNICAL SERVICES 

- 6/27/25 – DFPR – Health Care Licenses 
- (ADOPTED) 6/20/25 – DFPR – Genetic Counseling 
- (ADOPTED) 6/20/25 – DFPR – Landscaping  
- (ADOPTED) 6/20/25 – DFPR – Counseling and Therapy (3) 
- (ADOPTED) 6/20/25 – DFPR – Behavior Analysts  
- 6/6/25 – CDB – Building Codes 
- (ADOPTED) 5/30/25 – DCEO: Clean Jobs Programs 
- 5/23/25 – DOL: Day & Temporary Labor  
- (ADOPTED) 5/9/25 – DFPR: Nurses 
- (ADOPTED) 4/4/25 – EPA: Environmental Laboratories: Water Testing 

Methods 
- (ADOPTED) 4/4/25 – GOMB: Grant Rules 

 
55. MANAGEMENT OF COMPANIES AND ENTERPRISES 

- 5/23/25 – DOL: Day & Temporary Labor  
- (ADOPTED) 4/4/25 – GOMB: Grant Rules 

 
56. ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPORT AND WASTE MANAGEMENT AND 
REMEDIATION SERVICES 

- 5/23/25 – DOL: Day & Temporary Labor  
- 5/16/25 – DOR – Sales Tax 
- (ADOPTED) 5/9/25 – DOL: Nurse Agencies 
- (ADOPTED) 4/4/25 – HFS: Medical Debt Relief 
- (ADOPTED) 4/4/25 – GOMB: Grant Rules 

 
61. EDUCATIONAL SERVICES 

- 5/23/25 – DOL: Day & Temporary Labor  
- (ADOPTED) 5/16/25 – CDB – Construction Grants for Early Childhood 

Facilities 
- (ADOPTED) 5/16/25 – SBE: Special Education (2) 
- (ADOPTED) 4/4/25 – GOMB: Grant Rules 
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62. HEALTH CARE AND SOCIAL ASSISTANCE 

- 6/27/25 – DFPR – Health Care Licenses 
- (ADOPTED) 6/20/25 – HFSRB – Health Facilities 
- 6/13/25 – DHS: Early Intervention Providers 
- 6/13/25 – DPH: Hospital Licensing Requirements 
- 6/6/25 – DPH: Home Health, Home Services, and Home Nursing 

Agencies 
- 6/6/25 – DPH: Newborn Screening 
- (ADOPTED) 6/6/25 – DPH – Birth Centers 
- (ADOPTED) 6/6/25 – DPH – Health Care Worker Background Checks 
- 5/30/25 – DPH: Hospices and Home Health Agencies (2) 
- 5/23/25 – DOL: Day & Temporary Labor  
- (ADOPTED) 5/16/25 – DPH: Care Facilities for the Developmentally 

Disabled (2) 
- (ADOPTED) 5/9/25 – DPH: Nursing Homes (3) 
- (ADOPTED) 5/9/25 – DOL: Nurse Agencies 
- (ADOPTED) 4/18/25 – DHS: Substance Use Treatment 
- (ADOPTED) 4/11/25 – HFS: Long-Term Care Cost Reports 
- (ADOPTED) 4/11/25 – DPH: Home Health Services 
- (ADOPTED) 4/11/25 – DPH: Nursing Homes 
- (ADOPTED) 4/11/25 – DPH: Nursing Assistant Exam: English or Spanish 
- (ADOPTED) 4/11/25 – DPH: Newborn Screening 
- (ADOPTED) 4/11/25 – DPH: STI Control Measures: HIV-Positive Providers 
- (ADOPTED) 4/4/25 – HFS: Medical Debt Relief 
- (ADOPTED) 4/4/25 – DCFS: Mandated Reporter Training: Implicit Bias 
- (ADOPTED) 4/4/25 – GOMB: Grant Rules 
- (ADOPTED) 4/4/25 – HFS: Medical Transportation, Acupuncture 

 
71. ARTS, ENTERTAINMENT, AND RECREATION 

- 5/23/25 – DOL: Day & Temporary Labor  
- 5/16/25 – DOR – Sales Tax 
- (ADOPTED) 5/9/25 – DOL: Amusements 

 
72. ACCOMMODATION AND FOOD SERVICES 
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- 5/23/25 – DOL: Day & Temporary Labor  
- 5/16/25 – DOR – Sales Tax 
- (ADOPTED) 4/4/25 – GOMB: Grant Rules 

 
81. OTHER SERVICES (EXCEPT PUBLIC ADMINISTRATION) 

- (ADOPTED) 5/23/25 – DCEO: Construction Bid Credits 
- 5/23/25 – DOL: Day & Temporary Labor  
- 5/16/25 – DOR – Sales Tax 
- (ADOPTED) 5/16/25 – CDB – Construction Grants for Early Childhood 

Facilities 
- (ADOPTED) 4/11/25: DCFS: Day Care: Children’s Product Safety 
- (ADOPTED) 4/4/25 – GOMB: Grant Rules 

 
92. PUBLIC ADMINISTRATION 

- 5/23/25 – DOL: Day & Temporary Labor  
- 5/2/25 – SOS: Vehicle Titles and Registration 
- (ADOPTED) 4/25/25 – IEPA Repealers (3)  
- (ADOPTED) 4/4/25 – GOMB: Grant Rules 
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ABOUT THE OFFICE OF REGULATORY FLEXIBILITY 
 
We provide timely updates and analysis on Illinois’ regulatory developments, 
focusing on their impact on small businesses. To subscribe to this newsletter, 
sign up at https://lp.constantcontactpages.com/sl/Q7A4yBE.  
 
We prepare formal small business impact analyses of proposed rules when 
they are requested by 25 interested persons, an association representing 100 
or more interested persons, the Governor, a unit of local government, or the 
Joint Committee on Administrative Rules. Requests can be sent to 
CEO.RegFlex@illinois.gov with subject header "SBIA Request". 
 
Our goal is to educate and empower you to effectively convey your unique 
concerns during the rulemaking process. For questions, guidance, or more 
information, reach out to us at CEO.RegFlex@illinois.gov.  

https://lp.constantcontactpages.com/sl/Q7A4yBE
mailto:CEO.RegFlex@illinois.gov
mailto:CEO.RegFlex@illinois.gov
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